Do I have an accent?

I always say that I have a confused accent. On one hand, I’m from Michigan. I’ve also lived all around the Midwest. But, my mom’s from Texas and talks with a slight dialect — although it’s nothing like some of my aunts.

I think that has left me with unusual pronunciations for some words, so I’m always intrigued to hear how other peoples’ accents differ. I guess I’m not alone in this either, as the whole concept of an accent vlog has been popular for a while. In fact, it’s so popular that I can’t track down the original source. (Tell me if you know who I should give credit to!)

The premise of it is that I repeat a list of words, which have different pronunciations around the country, and answer some questions, which have different answers around the country.

Words:
Aunt, Route, Wash, Oil, Theater, Iron, Salmon, Caramel, Fire, Water, Sure, Data, Ruin, Crayon, Toilet, New Orleans, Pecan, Both, Again, Probably, Spitting image, Alabama, Lawyer, Coupon, Mayonnaise, Syrup, Pajamas, Caught

Questions:

What is it called when you throw toilet paper on a house?
What is the bug that when you touch it, it curls into a ball?
What is the bubbly carbonated drink called?
What do you call gym shoes?
What do you say to address a group of people?
What do you call the kind of spider that has an oval-shaped body and extremely long legs?
What do you call your grandparents?
What do you call the wheeled contraption in which you carry groceries at the supermarket?
What do you call it when rain falls while the sun is shining?
What is the thing you use to change the TV channel?

Anyway, with no further ado, here is my first ever vlog!

Did you watch it? I’ll admit that I sometimes jump over vlogs, but these ones were always amusing to me!

If you did tune into my voice, do I sound similar to what you would have imagined? Do I have an accent?

Question: Do you think you have an accent?

11 responses to “Do I have an accent?

  • Jess@atasteofconfidence

    You’re so cute:) You didn’t sound like how I would expected, but I can’t exactly put my finger on it! And I call it a potato bug hehe.

  • Katelyn Johnson

    Emily, I loved your vlog! I thought it was hilarious I’ve know. You for 6 years and I heard more of an accent in those five minutes than every before lol

  • Elizabeth

    I’m from Texas and go to school in Wisconsin, and I definitely heard more of a Texan accent than a midwestern accent!

  • Jenn

    Love this! you definitely do have a “mixed accent” You also sound so sweet. lol not like I didn’t expect you to sound sweet, but you just sound like you wouldn’t harm a fly! I think you said a few words different than most kansans do ;) Oh, and the shopping cart thing, some people call it “buggy” in tennessee and areas like that. It’s funny that you call it coke, but don’t call carts buggy’s.

  • christina

    you’re so cute!! i don’t think you have an accent! you have such a clear speaking voice though :)

  • Joanne

    Loved the vlog Mimi. And you sound exactly like I would expect. But I am your mom. Remember when your second grade teacher told me that you probably had trouble spelling b/c I spoke with a Texas accent. I thought that was hilarious. And then you turned out to be a great speller and writer. I always think it’s weird when people pronounce A-u-n-t as “awnt”… I say it like “ant”.

  • Joanne

    Oh yeah, and it drives Marian crazy when I ask if she wants a “cold drink”. That’s what I call carbonated beverages.

  • Rose

    hey! You definitely have alittle of an accent, I only knew you when you were in ohio for a bit and I didnt really remember what you sounded like or have any expectations. But you guys is definitely an ohio thing people point that out to me alot!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 49 other followers

