Fighting off Fruit Loops

I’ve said before that I am a morning person. I like to get a fresh, early start to the day, and I find that I am most productive before the events of the day start piling up on my mind.

Still, my mornings looks a little different than Snow White’s.

Of course she looks like a princess! Who wouldn't with all that help?

There are no birds chirping, no bunnies scurrying about and certainly no squirrels whipping together my breakfast. Instead, it is just my blaring alarm, a closet full of boring clothes and a pantry of food that I am tasked with assembling.

Although my mornings may not be Disney-perfect, there is one sure-fire way to get my day off to a good start: a tasty breakfast!

I find it nearly impossible to be stressed out, pessimistic or just plain grumpy if I start off the day with something delectable.

Coming up with something edible isn’t hard to do; I’m not very discerning when it comes to breakfast foods. I’m a devoted member of the pancake fan club. I love coming up with new oatmeal additions and toppings. I’ve even, after years of resistance, recently become slightly obsessed with eggs. Options with breakfast foods are really unlimited.

The only problem with breakfast just seems to be its unfortunate timing. Whose idea was it really to make “the most important meal of the day” so early in the day? As a frequently sleep-deprived college student it is often tempting to opt for sleep over a hearty breakfast—and, as professed, I am a morning person! I don’t even like to imagine how my peers can make it through calculus, chemistry or microeconomics with just a bowl of Fruit Loops for fuel.

Ninety-five percent of mornings I am able to wake up with enough time set aside to prepare and adequately enjoy a good breakfast. But, for those other 5 percent of days, I need an easy breakfast solution that is still satisfying.

Now, I am quite certain I’ve come up with the perfect solution: easy “Orchard” breakfast. It is an ideal combination of fruit, protein and carbohydrates… sure to give me enough energy to tackle whatever my day has in store!

One of the best parts about this “recipe” is that it is quite adaptable. I just throw in whatever fruit sounds appetizing. Sometimes I add flax seeds, other times I simply stick to peanut butter. No matter what exact combination I go with, the basic formula never fails.

Easy “Orchard” Recipe

A blueberry, strawberry and apple blend. It may not look good, but, depending on the morning, it may be too dark to see, anyway!

Formula:

  • 1/8 C old-fashioned oatmeal
  • 1/4 C milk
  • 1/4 T cinnamon
  • 1/4 C frozen fruit (strawberries, blueberries, etc.)
  • 1 diced apple
  • Protein: 1/2 T peanut butter or 1 tsp. flax seeds… or both.

Directions:

  • Mix oatmeal, milk, cinnamon and frozen fruit in a bowl. Microwave for approximately three minutes.
  • Stir cooked oatmeal mixture with apples and microwave for another minute.
  • Add in protein, mix again and enjoy!

One response to “Fighting off Fruit Loops

Leave a Reply

