V8 has nothing on me

Let me fill you in on what I dish out about $10,000 a semester to learn:

•    Multimedia Reporting: People like hearing about sex, violence and the bizarre. For example, news that a clown prostitution ring was broken up, sending Bozo the Clown to the hospital with a gunshot wound to the buttocks would sell, sell, sell.

•    Multimedia Editing: No one correctly uses “lay” vs. “lie.” For the record, “lay” requires a direct object and “lie” doesn’t… just don’t ask me what that means.

•    Statistics: Be skeptical of everything and watch out for false positives. Wait, did my professor just teach me how to read a birth control test?

•    German: Ich kann nicht sprechen.

I know that these are pretty abstract concepts for the “average folk” grasp, but somehow I make do.

However, on the days that the battle of who vs. whom was just too overwhelming to focus on, I turned to daydreams of summer.

I imagined relaxing beside a pool, sipping on iced tea and catching up on my gossip magazine supply.

I figured this was pretty realistic… I was even willing to live without a hunk to feed me grapes.

Still, my expectations were a little high. My days are more filled with interning and less with finding out what Lindsay Lohan has been up to.

[source]

With a lot to keep me busy, sometimes it’s difficult to fit balanced servings of fruit, vegetables, carbohydrates, proteins and fats into my diet.

So, when I stumbled upon a recipe that combined fruit, vegetables and a good dose of sweetness, I wasted no time in getting’ a cookin’.

Chai Pumpkin Carrot Cupcakes

Ingredients:

•    ¾ C all-purpose flour
•    ¾ C whole-wheat flour
•    1 ½ t baking powder
•    ½ t baking soda
•    2 t chai spice (see below)
•    ¼ C vegetable oil
•    ¼ C unsweetened applesauce
•    ¼ C crushed pineapple
•    3 flax seed “eggs
•    Heaping 2/3 C sugar
•    2 t pure vanilla extract
•    2 C shredded carrots (about 4 or 5 medium-sized carrots)

Directions:

•    In a large bowl, whisk together first five ingredients (through chai spice).
•    In another large bowl, whisk together remaining ingredients (oil through carrots).
•    Slowly add the flour mixture to wet ingredients. Blend until just combined.
•    Fill greased or lined muffin tins ¾ full with batter.
•    Bake until cupcakes are set, about 20 minutes for mini-muffins.
•    When slightly cooled, remove from tin and allow cupcakes to finish cooling on wire rack.

Glaze:

•    Make whisk together milk, softened low-fat cream cheese, vanilla, cinnamon and milk until desired consistency and taste are attained. Glaze cupcakes when they are adequately cooled.

Chai Spice Blend:

•    1 1/2 t ground ginger
•    1 t cinnamon
•    1/2 t ground cloves
•    1/2 t ground cardamom
•    1/4 t nutmeg
•    1/4 t allspice

Enjoy and please excuse me while I lay a sexy wounded clown down to “sleep.”

2 responses to “V8 has nothing on me

Leave a Reply

