Love, life and laughter

My mom was the youngest of eight children, evenly split with four boys and four girls.

The next generation started off in a sequence of eight grandsons.

Rumor is, my grandma used to bring both pink and blue blankets to the hospital for her new grandchild. She eventually just started bringing blue blankets…

I apparently changed the trend. After I was born, my sister and two other girls quickly followed.

Despite the size, my family has always been very close.

To us girls, none of whom have brothers of our own, the older cousins have always been our idols.

As a girl, I've always been outnumbered by my goofy guy cousins. James has his arm around me.

Each boy was unique: Charlie was the leader. George was the artist. Sam was the adventurer. John was the jokester. Jason was the soft-spoken voice of reason. Mike was the musician. Will was the military man. And James was the protector.

I love each of my cousins in different ways, but I was always particularly close to James. He was never too short on time to take a moment to simply listen, even if I was rambling about something pointless.

James also had a sparkling personality and an innate way of uniting the family.

For example, the week before I turned 18, I texted James.

“Guess what?” I asked, eager to remind him of my upcoming birthday.

“You better not tell me you’re engaged,” he jokingly replied. Classic James… Always looking out for me, while still making me laugh.

I wasn’t alone in the connection I felt with James. He cared for everyone and was never too proud to make light of himself for the sake of a smile.

This Christmas Eve, the tone of our family celebration was mildly somber. Will, James’ younger brother, had recently been deployed to Iraq. The gathering seemed incomplete.

Then, James walked in, wearing a propeller hat, á la “Barnum and Bailey.”

In that instant, everyone burst into laughter. That was simply James: able to unite the family.

One week later, I flew to Connecticut to visit an aunt on the other side of the family.

Shortly after arriving, I received a call from my dad.

“I have some unfortunate news to tell you,” he said. “Your cousin James was taken to the hospital with a brain aneurism this morning…”

Suddenly, the air was stripped from my chest.

Aneurism? I had heard of this before… people don’t live from aneurisms.

My dad continued to talk, but I struggled to comprehend his words.

“He’s dead?” I asked.

Obviously full of regret for the news he had to give, my dad answered.

“Yes.”

I let out an involuntary sob and my world began to spin. How could my cousin be dead when he was so full of life just the week before?

The next week was a blur. I went forth with my planned vacation, but thoughts of James were inescapable.

After a quick turn-around, I flew back to the place my family had spent a joyful Christmas just days before.

This time, instead of sharing presents, we shared memories. We laughed, we cried, we reminisced and we mourned.

It was comforting to be surrounded by family, but the reality that we would never again be complete was inevitable.

At James’ funeral service, which his brother was allowed to return home from Iraq for, it was clear that I wasn’t the only one who considered James special: The church was packed with friends, as well as dozens of other people whose lived James had touched.

After a few days with family, I was shoved back into reality. The second semester began and I started a new job on the newspaper.

Readjustment was a struggle. For the first real time in my life, my faith was tested—I just couldn’t comprehend why someone so amazing should be taken so young.

I spent a few weeks dwelling in shock, able to talk about James’ death as fact of the matter, but never allowing myself to let the actuality sink in.

Then, life went on.

In the time since, I’ve experienced some of lows, as I’ve struggled to find balance in life.

However, these months have also been some of the most rewarding. I’ve tested my strength and come out better on the other side. I’ve raced, I’ve written, I’ve reaffirmed my faith, I’ve even fallen in love.

Today is what would be James’ 25th birthday. Although he isn’t around to blow out any candles or open any presents, I know he is here in spirit… Laughter doesn’t die.

In loving memory of James Chance.

7 responses to “Love, life and laughter

  • Can You Stay for Dinner

    Oh what an absolutely heartbreaking and beautiful post. I’m so sorry for your loss, but I must say that this tribute to your lovely cousin was wonderful.

  • Suzanne Chance

    Emily
    My dear sweet first born niece. You wrote an amazing tribute to James and our family. Oh how I dreaded that call your dad had to make. Oh how I dreaded the call from James dad that morning and mine to your grandmother. I wanted to believe, but , like you I knew.
    The treck your family had to make every year but did so without complain just to be with the majority based in Dallas was always exhausting. But I have to tell you it meant everything to us and especially James.
    Thank you for how you love James. Thank you for being my neice. Thank you for being who you are.
    I love you so much.
    Susu

  • Shauna

    Emily,

    Suzanne sent this blog to me weeks ago, but I have held off reading it until now. I knew it would bring tears to my eyes…and I was right. You are such a beautiful writer and person. God Bless you sweetie.- Shauna

  • Amateur at the gun club «

    […] to feel like much of a holiday; Just one year ago, my dear, compassionate and wonderful cousin James died suddenly of an aneurism. He is in my heart all day, every […]

  • 2010 in review «

    […] must admit that the year started off with an all-time low for me. My cousin James died on the last day of 2009, so the first few days of the new year were consumed by memorials and […]

  • Unexpected blessings «

    […] one of my incredible cousins suddenly died, I also learned how valuable every moment is with the people you love. However, […]

  • Living for the day «

    […] to her lungs. Although no one can every truly be ready for tragedy, I think my family’s had its share for a […]

Leave a Reply

