Rest for the weary

It’s just past six in the morning. Most people in town are probably asleep. The other students are certainly asleep.

Without fail (mostly), my friend Rebecca and I meet every morning for an energizing jog.

Yes, is summer, it is Germany and we are college students. Yes, maybe we are a little crazy.

But, it’s worth it. I am one of “those people” who truly enjoys working out.

Biking through the Black Hills of South Dakota.

It is the one part of the day when I can put all books aside and clear my mind. No matter how crunched for time I feel, even with devoting an hour or so to exercise I am still able to accomplish everything on my to-do list.

I know that a good workout has the ability to solve many of life’s greatest problems…

The thing is, my body doesn’t always see it that way.

Sometimes I have to put a little more "work" into working out.

Sometimes, despite how much I yearn to head out for a jog or have a Pilates session, my body just refuses to allow it.

Frequently I push through the pain. While I may feel better in the moment, the aches just reemerge the next day, only exacerbating the original problem.

The cycle never seems to end until I am finally able to convince myself to take a day (meaning a minimum of 24-hours/two nights of sleep) off of working out.

I usually end up wringing my hands together, gazing longingly at my yoga mat or even reaching for my running shoes.

But, I make it. The world still turns. The sun still rises.

The next day, with a remarkable sense of  renewal, I feel capable of working out.

My endurance is increased, my energy is up and my spirits are high. In that moment I realize the importance of taking a break from exercise every now and then.

Yet, this epiphany always seems to slip my mind just as quickly as it appeared.

Soon I am back to the old cycle of refusing to take a day off…

Question: Do you ever experience the struggle to rationalize taking a break from working out? Do you have a designated day of rest or just take a break when your body needs it?

3 responses to “Rest for the weary

  • Samantha

    Oh man Austria!! What are you there for, just vacation?
    I take one rest day a week from running and then during season it’s one rest day every 3 weeks. I really love off days because I can just relax and give my legs a break!

    • pursuitofhealthfulness

      I’m studying abroad in Germany, which generally keeps me busy. We had a long weekend, though, so my friend and I decided to catch a train south! As for the running, my legs certainly love me a little more the day after I rest.

  • Katie

    Gosh I feel the same way you do sometimes. Today was one of those days I didn’t want to work out. I did it anyway and it made me feel a lot better. But there are definitely times when I want to just take a break. My body just tells me “I’m not feeling it” and I listen to them

Leave a Reply

