Sorrow and scrambled eggs

Dear Germany-

I love you, I really do. Even my beloved state of Kansas has nothing on your snow-capped mountains, crystal clear streams and vintage charm.I would dare say you are perfect, except for one fatal flaw.

It may sound cliché, but it isn’t you. It’s me.

You see, I’m already in a passionate love-affair with the kitchen.

The kitchen and I have had a rocky romance. However, we’ve made it through the worst and come out better on the other side.

Germany, please don’t take this as a lack of appreciation for all of the hospitality you’ve given me.

I’ll always have fond memories of our summer together. Besides, desperate times call for desperate measures, so I’ve gotten a little inventive in my non-kitchen.

Now, I look back on all our memories together and can’t help but smile. Remember the times I made tasty scrambled eggs in the microwave? Yeah, that was fun…

Last-Resort Scrambled Eggs

Locate and egg and a microwave. Crack egg into microwave-safe bowl. Add 1 t. water, a sprinkle of salt and dash of pepper. Stir well. Cover with paper towel and microwave on high for approximately one minute, or until eggs is pillowy and fully cooked.

Break up the egg-puff with a fork. Mix in a bit of cheese or salsa. Serve alongside a hearty slice of whole-grain toast and some fresh vegetables.

Don’t be sad, Germany. You’ll always have a special place in my heart.

Love-

Emily Lou

4 responses to “Sorrow and scrambled eggs

Leave a Reply

