My recurring nightmare

Have you ever had the nightmare where you walk into a room full of people only to realize you are buck-naked?

Yeah, well I don’t.

Not only is my nightmare a little different, but it is also much more horrifying

I return to America and walk into the kitchen. After weeks abroad, I am eager to get cooking. I  open the pantry, but all I see are strange products that don’t seem to match. Then I try to turn on the oven, but can’t remember how.

Panic-stricken, I realize I’ve absolutely forgotten how to cook. Oh, the horror!

Last night, this thought woke me up with a gasp and cold sweat. Although I was relieved to find it was only a dream, I couldn’t help but feel a bit of fear.

What if I really am losing my skills?

With a few more hours sleep and a bit more logical of a thought-process, I set out to prove that my nightmare wasn’t true.

I didn’t have access to an oven, grocery store or kitchen stapes. Still, I was determined to make something that took a little chopping and mixing.

Quick scan of the pantry turned up: an apple, cinnamon and muesli (an absolute essential in any German household).

Those are the makings for a pretty good crisp,” I thought.

From there, everything came together pretty simply. I was back in business.

No-Bake Apple Crisp

Ingredients:

  • 1 crisp apple
  • 1/2 T jelly
  • Sprinkle of cinnamon
  • 1/4 C muesli (I used a dried fruit and nut blend)

Directions:

  • Dice apple. Sprinkle with cinnamon and mix together.
  • Microwave on high for about one minute, or until apple are at desired level of tenderness.
  • Mix with jelly and muesli.

I admit it was less impressive than some of my creations at home, but it was just as delicious. More importantly, it comforted me to know that not all my cooking skills have been lost.

I should be able to sleep well tonight…

Question: What are some of the things you miss most about home when traveling?

6 responses to “My recurring nightmare

Leave a Reply

