Friday Fragments: Don’t say too much

Throughout a week of observations, activities and adventures, I usually have a lot of random things filed away into the “miscellaneous” cabinet of my mind.

These thoughts don’t necessarily fall under any category, but they are things I just can’t get off my mind. That’s where “Friday Fragments” comes in.

“Friday Fragments” is a weekly ramble post about some health-related hot topic from the past week.

Up first: Ellen Pompeo’s interview for Self Magazine

I usually enjoy “Self,” for its practical advice and promotion of healthy, not skinny, bodies.

For four months, I’ve been toting around the April edition, waiting for the right chance to read it. After having finished all of the English-language books I brought to Germany, I finally found the time for “Self.”

For the most part, I was as impressed as usual. However, when I got to the interview with that month’s cover star, Ellen Pompeo, I couldn’t help but get hung up on something…

“I went up a pants size during my pregnancy. I was in a size 25 jeans and went to a size 26… This is my body. If they don’t like it, screw it.” -Ellen Pompeo

[source]

I understand the point that “Self” was trying to make by including this quote: Health is about more than a weight or jean size.

This intention went wrong, though, when the magazine included Pompeo’s jean size.

Citing her pre- and post-pregnancy jean sizes doesn’t inspire inspiration, motivation or confidence. Rather, it only promotes insecurity.

Right now, I am more content with my body than I have been in a long time. However, when I read the interview, I couldn’t help but think, “I wasn’t even a size 26 when I was at my skinniest!”

My size-envy quickly subsided. I am happy and healthy. It doesn’t matter what size my jeans are…

Still, that moment of fear is poignant in my mind.

If I had a moment of personal doubt, then what effect will Pompeo’s quote have on other women?

Journalism is about telling the whole story, but “Self” failed to do that.

The magazine didn’t mention that Pompeo is less than 5 1/2 feet tall. I stand four inches taller than her. Of course it would be difficult for us to have the same jean size!

“Self” also didn’t say what brand of jeans Pompeo was referencing. A study by “Consumer Reports” found that there may be a difference of up to two inches in the waist measurements of jeans, depending on the brand.

It’s simply not fair to promote comparisons between our bodies and Pompeo’s.

She is a beautiful woman, and I do believe she is healthy.

I just wonder why is it necessary to evaluate her health at the detriment of others’ self-confidence.

Question: What do you think about “Self” including Pompeo’s jean size?

 

5 responses to “Friday Fragments: Don’t say too much

  • Jess

    I think that health is much more than a number! And magazines and T.V. shows need to remember that!
    ❤ jess
    xoxo

  • Kat

    Sooo totally agree with you, but I do like the fact that she admitted she went up a size and didnt try to give any excuses for it. She just accepted it. I have heard celebrities blame it on their pregnancy, instead of just embracing it as part of the process. So for that, I would have to say high five to her.
    The magazine ofcourse, doesnt really understand I dont think. I def think SELF and other magazines as well need to rethink what they print.

    • pursuitofhealthfulness

      I actually think it’s impressive that Ellen said she went up a size. In her business, it is still a big risk to disclose that!

      I just think that including the specific numbers was a little unnecessary. Magazines such as “Self” that are supposed to promote health and fitness need to be careful about the subtle messages they are sending. It’s a responsibility.

  • Katelyn Johnson

    I’d be more worried about the baby since she only went up one pants size. Someone of healthy weight should gain 25 to 35 pounds during a pregnancy. Anatomy tells me that babies hang out near your waist line and I would assume that 25 to 35 lbs would be more like 2 or 3 pant sizes.
    I do agree that Self should have not given specific numbers and or told all the factors. Women are the most self conscious things out there, I am one of them.

    • pursuitofhealthfulness

      She said she gained 26 lbs. during her pregnancy. Not sure how 26 lbs. and just one pant size match up, but oh well.

      I feel like there is already enough media making girls self conscious. I expect more from “Self.”

      However, you, my dear, are absolutely gorgeous and amazing.

Leave a Reply

