Family heritage

If you want to get technical about it, I’m Austrian, Irish and a touch of French.

But, for all intents and purposes, I am Texan.

That’s where my mom was born and raised. That’s where her seven brothers and sisters still reside. That’s where my grandparent’s house, the only house I’ve consistently had, is.

Although I know that Texas isn’t a country (yes, I passed Intro to Geography), it does have a distinct and unique culture.

More important to me, it has a distinct cuisine: Tex-Mex.

Instead of a baked ham and potatoes, our Christmas Eve menu usually consists queso, vegetarian tortilla soup and sautéed vegetables.

With a group of the cousins for 2007's Christmas Eve.

For as good as those things are, my absolute favorite family speciality is my aunt’s Mexican hot chocolate. The blend of cinnamon, cocoa and a bit of chili just warms me up in a way that not even regular hot chocolate can match.

Yesterday, I had a strong craving for some Mexican hot chocolate. But with temperatures still pushing 100 degrees, the “hot” part didn’t really appeal to me.

After a bit of searching, I can upon Mama Pea‘s recipe for Mexican Chocolate Cookies.

Without hesitation, I whipped up a batch.

The verdict: I love my aunt and will always be loyal to her hot chocolate, but these cookies were amazing! There was a complexity not found in most chocolate cookies, but the taste wasn’t too overwhelming.

The first official training day for my half-marathon called for a 4-mile run. Nothing too intense, but it did work up a good appetite.

To satisfy that, my other eats for the day included:

Green Monster

Consumed: 1 “Fiber One” strawberry yogurt, 1/2 frozen banana, light soy milk, two handfuls of spinach, 1 T PB, sprinkle of Kashi cereal and granola.

Mediterranean Salad

Consumed: Romaine, carrots, roasted peppers, feta and hummus with balsamic vinaigrette.

Greek Yogurt and Granola

Consumed: Dannon strawberry Greek yogurt, granola and a possible sprinkle of dark chocolate chips.

PB, J and Banana Panini

Consumed: 1 “Flat Out” whole wheat tortilla, small banana, 1 T PB and jelly. Prepared by bundling into a square, pressing on grill pan and sprinkled with cinnamon.

Since the day wasn’t already sweet enough, the boy and I decided to walk up to a local snow cone stand.

He suffered a stubbed toe and I broke my shoe, but we made it there alive…

Consumed: Sugar-free black cherry snow cone.

I only have a couple of days left before school picks back up, so I’m trying to squeeze summer for all it’s worth. Although my day may not have been filled with the healthiest of eats, I enjoyed every minute bite of it.

Question: What kinds of food does your family traditionally bake or cook?

7 responses to “Family heritage

Leave a Reply

