Brownies for peace

Disregarding that little thing called “the Civil War,” there have only been a handful of subjects to truly divide America.

Democrat or Republican?

Coke or Pepsi?

Yankees or Red Sox?

Cakey brownies or fudgey brownies?

Congress may never get anything done. Pop-lovers may convert. Baseball fans may never give up hope (even despite an 86-year drought of World Series championships).

Still, there is hope for humanity: Common ground can be found in the great brownie debate.

Personally, I’m not one to judge. If chocolate is a main ingredient, I’m pretty much sold. However, although I certainly enjoy the fruits desserts of my labor, the real joy of baking is pleasing others.

In an effort satisfy everyone I sought to strike neutral territory in the cakey vs. fudgey feud. But I wasn’t going to stop there.

Fresh off the success of my (er, Mama Pea‘s) Mexican Chocolate Cookies, I decided to do some experimenting.

Not to toot my own horn, but I like to think that my creation was a little more successful than some others…

[source]

With no farther delay, I bring you…

Mexican Brownies

Ingredients:

  • 2/3 C WW flour
  • 1/3 C AP flour
  • Scant 2/3 C sugar
  • 1/4 C unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 t baking powder
  • 1/2 t salt
  • 1/2 t cinnamon
  • 1/2 t chili powder
  • 1/3 C unsweetened applesauce
  • 1/2 C soy milk (or skim milk)
  • 1/4 C water
  • 2 flax eggs (or 2 eggs)
  • 1/2 t vanilla
  • 1/4 C dark chocolate chips

Directions:

  • In a large bowl, combine the flour, sugar, cocoa powder, baking powder, salt cinnamon and chili powder. In a separate bowl combine the applesauce, milk, water, flax eggs and vanilla.
  • Mix everything together including the chocolate chips. Be careful not to over-mix.
  • Pour batter into greased 8×8 in. pan. Bake in 350 degree oven for 30 minutes, or until toothpick comes out clean.

A little fudgey, a little cakey. A little savory, a little sweet. These brownies hit all the right notes.

Plus, there is just subtle undertone of heat, which is all the excuse I need to top something with a good ol’ scoop of ice cream.

Now, please excuse me while I whip up a batch for Mr. Obama… If these babies don’t inspire the spirit of compromise, then nothing will.

Question: What do you think are some other issues that America is divided on?

10 responses to “Brownies for peace

Leave a Reply

