Party of 50

It’s one thing cooking and baking for my friends.

It’s a whole ‘nother thing to cook for 50 hungry college boys.

Last night, I got my first glimpse into life as a cook, when I helped Dan make dinner for his scholarship hall.

The meal was scheduled to be served at 6 o’clock sharp. Emphasis on the “sharp.” Five more minutes, and a riot would surely break out.

To ensure we had enough time to get it all done, we wanted to start cooking around 3 p.m.

But, first, we had a cross-training ride to fit in.

Even though there were some ominously dark clouds in the sky, we loaded the bikes in the back of Dan’s truck and drove to some trails outside of town.

Instead of rain, we only battled intense humidity. By the time we got done swimming riding, we were more than ready to re-hydrate.

Lucky us, it just happened to be 2 o’clock, i.e. Sonic’s Happy Hour.

I opted for a totally artificial, totally delicious low-cal diet cherry limeade… And I loved every drop of it.

Thanks to awesome planning skills, I had just enough time to  shower and make it back to Dan’s hall to start cooking.

With more than four dozen boys to feed, it’s necessary to plan for the meals far in advance. Therefore, I didn’t get much choice in what was being served.

On the predetermined menu: Chicken Alfredo, vegetarian stuffed bell peppers, stuffed mushrooms and Bosco sticks.

I eagerly headed up the creation of the stuffed peppers and mushrooms. Meanwhile, Dan headed up the chicken Alfredo.

He even instructed me on the proper way to season the chicken.

He’s such a pro.

By five o’clock, all we had to do was wait. Or make cookies. Naturally, I chose the cookies.

All of the food was finished and ready to be served by 5:50. Yeah, ten minutes before schedule.

Re: We’re such pros.

Not as though the boys were going to wait those extra ten minutes just counting bricks on the wall.

Fortunately, I was able to scavenge a plate for myself.

Consumed: 2 stuffed mushrooms, stuffed green pepper with mozzarella cheese and a Bosco stick.

The good thing about boys is that no matter how much they eat, they always seems to have room for a little dessert. On second thought, that also applies to me.

The meal was rounded out with double chocolate oat cookies.

Ohhhh yeahhhh.

All in all, cooking for 50 people wasn’t much different from what I normally do. That is, other than the industrial size cookware, 30-minutes-to-boil pots of water and ingredients measured in pounds.

Still, I loved every minute of it. I mean, it was food, after all…

Questions: What’s the biggest crowd you’ve ever cooked for? What did you make? How did it go?

4 responses to “Party of 50

  • Jess

    Wow, that’s a lot of hungry boys! Looks like it was a HUGE success.
    ❤ jess
    xoxo

  • Erin

    Wow, what a JOB! The most people I’ve ever cooked for… two. 😉

  • Angela (the diet book junkie)

    wow, you guys are awesome! the largest crowd i’ve cooked for was a party of 8 and THAT was stressful enough! (i’m not much of a cook…hehe…)

  • Patti

    In college, I belonged to a natural foods co-op kitchen where we each took turns cooking for about 100 people at dinner. None of us knew what we were doing and we had to learn everything on the job. I found out that I had to change some of the proportions of baking powder and spices for such large servings of food. And then there was the time when the industrial size mixer went heywire and splattered spaetzle all over the ceiling . . .

Leave a Reply

