Saturday in the park

Whoever said that weekends are for “taking it easy” clearly never trained for a half-marathon.

While sane people slept in or caught up on cartoons, Dan and I hit the trails for a five-mile run.

Our early rising helped us beat the heat, but not the humidity. Within minutes, I was drenched (in sweat) and drained (of energy).

Upon returning home, I resisted immediately sticking my head in the freezer. Instead, I quickly devoured a green monster, without even pausing to take a picture.

Sorry. Thirst beckoned.

Two hours and a lot of a nothingness later, Dan and I met up with one of my friends from study abroad for lunch. He was in town from Arkansas, where (gasp) they don’t have Chipotle.

Consumed: Salad with black beans, fajita veggies, two types of salsa, a little cheese and blob of guacamole.

Dan had to spend two more hours out in the sun refereeing ultimate frisbee. In the meantime, I stuck strictly to air conditioning, by going to the grocery store.

I like to devote time each weekend to pre-week food preparation as part of my “flexibly organized” plan. This week, I roasted some tofu (which I prefer cold) and chopped up vegetables for easy salad assembly.

By the time Dan got back to my house for dinner, I was a little burnt out of the kitchen. I put my food prep into use by making a couple of salads. Paired with some frozen, non-fried spring rolls, it was just as delicious and simple as I sought.

Dan was even proud enough of his plate presentation to model it for me.

We enjoyed our dinner alfresco by laying out a blanket and sitting in the shade of a tree. After dinner, since Dan was clearly in the modeling mood, I couldn’t help but snap a few more shots.

Pensive

Happy

Shy

Tired

Then, (lucky me) he stole the camera. A taste of my own medicine, I suppose.

A couple of hours later, we went down to Mass Street (Lawrence’s main street) to grab frozen yogurt from 3 Spoons.

There was a big art festival going on, which meant a lot of crowds. We didn’t have much time to slow down, lest we get trampled, so I didn’t take a picture of my frozen yogurt.

I went with some with a “York Peppermint Patty” and orange yogurt blend. Then, I topped it with fresh strawberries and non-fresh chocolate candies.

Suffice it to say, it was incredibly refreshing, if not the most healthy option.

That night, my neighbors were having a party, so we went by. It was (remarkably) even hotter inside than it was outside, so we didn’t stay long.

The rest of the night was pretty low key crazy, wild, college-ish.

But, really, we didn’t do much. And I didn’t mind.

Questions: If you are in college, what do you like to do on the weekends? If you are in the “real world” how have your weekends changed since college?

10 responses to “Saturday in the park

  • Stanley M

    I am running my first Half Marathon in November and have recently started training myself. I understand exactly how you feel, especially in the humidity that is Richmond, VA USA.
    I’m running the Richmond Half Marathon. I’m also blogging about my training and fitness in general.
    Best of luck!

  • Katie

    That’s awesome that you’re training for the half marathon! It’s on my things-to-do list! And I know what you’re talking about with the hot parties. Everywhere I go, people are sweating more inside then out. It actually feels COOL when I go outside, hehe!

  • Lauren Hendrick

    I’m always surprised when people haven’t eaten at Chipotle too. I was REALLY surprised when I realized there was a Chipotle down the street from where I work. I didn’t realize it had expanded all the way to NY! They have a great (fresh & strong) margarita for the price, considering it’s fast food Mexican.

    To answer your question, I think my weekends are definitely less social. A weekend is more about relaxation now and I used to spend them hungover and studying for tests. Unfortunately, weekends in the culinary world are about work… and soon, they’ll be about school for me.

    Good luck with your training! I’ve always wanted to be a harcore running. You’re lucky you have a boyfriend/running partner!

  • Lauren Hendrick

    hardcore runner*

  • Angela (the diet book junkie)

    pepperment and orange, i’ve never heard of such a taste experience! never met a frozen yogurt i didn’t like before 🙂

    weekends for me have changed a few times since college. for years, i worked in restaurants so my weekends were devoted to work. now that i don’t have to do it, i feel so blesssed!! fridays we usually hit the town, and from there, it gradually slows down till i’m cleaning the apartment and grocery shopping (yay, adult stuff 🙂 )

  • sarahdbelle

    You two are just lovely! Sounds like a perfect night to me ; )

  • Anne @ Food Loving Polar Bear

    After college I actually have some free time! I love it when I close the door at the office on Friday that I don’t have to do anything work related for 2,5 days 🙂

  • Lindsay

    I have no life right now. I unfortunately go to school monday through friday and then I work at a Big Insurance Company on Saturday and Sunday from 9am – 7:30pm. I am exhausted most days, but I am hoping that in October I might be able to make some changes!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

