Act of faith

Along with the chronologically ordered list of American presidents and the Pythagorean theorem, one of the other things I’ve learned during my 19 years is that life isn’t always easy.

Tragedy happens without explanation. Failure without solace. Shortfall without subsequent success.

Yet, I wake up in the morning with the confidence that I will be blessed.

Why?

This isn’t always easy. Events happen without plausible explanation, outward reason or the semblance of logic.

I don’t get choice about these occurences. I do get choice about how I allow them to affect me.

Just as everyone else, I’ve experienced my share of sadness. But, I don’t allow it to bring me down.

This is because faith grows with every tear.

The ability to dig deep and find faith is more than a defense against tragedy. It gives me courage to try new things, even if I don’t know what the results will be.

Faith spreads into every part of my life, from my spirituality to my running to my cooking. I experience all these types of faith to varying degrees and in varying ways.

Still, it is faith that sustains me and emboldens me to try something new.

Today, I tapped into that by creating a new recipe.

Blueberry Cinnamon Rolls

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups Hodgson Mill Whole-Wheat Pancake Mix
  • 2 T vegan margarine (I used “Smart Balance,” but butter would work)
  • 2/3 C soy milk (skim would work)
  • 1 1/2 C fresh or frozen blueberries
  • 1/4 C brown sugar
  • 1 T corn starch
  • 1 T warm water
  • 2 t cinnamon

Directions:

  • Using large bowl, combine baking mix and butter until crumbly.
  • Mix in milk. Combine until dough pulls away from edges of bowl.
  • While allowing dough to rest, continuously stir blueberries and brown sugar in medium-sized saucepan on medium heat until mushy, approximately five minutes.
  • Dissolve corn starch in water. Add to blueberries and stir until thickened, approximately two minutes.
  • Remove blueberries from heat, add cinnamon and stir to mix.
  • Back to the dough: Turn it onto flour-covered surface. Knead four or five times. Roll dough into rectangular shape until 1/4 inch thick.
  • Evenly spread blueberry mixture over dough, leaving 1/2 inch perimeter. Note: There may be leftover blueberry sauce.
  • Tightly roll dough. Cut roll into even pieces. Place in ungreased 8- or 9-inch pan.
  • Bake in 425 degree oven for approximately 25 minutes, or until lightly browned.
  • Top hot rolls with drizzle of honey and a sprinkle of cinnamon sugar.

The real point of faith is that I’ll never with certainty how things will work out, but I have to believe…

In today’s case, that faith worked out for the best.

Similar to traditional cinnamon rolls, these were sweet and comforting. Unlike traditional rolls, they were hearty, fruity and didn’t leave me in a sugar-coma.

That’s a win in my book. And, I never would have known it if I hadn’t taken it on faith.

Question: In what ways do you see faith at work in your life?

4 responses to “Act of faith

Leave a Reply

