Banish blueberry blues

I was never the type of girl to squeal and run in fear at the sight of a spider.

I can handle heights.

I’ve even chosen some nature of public speaking as my career.

So what does manage to give me the heebie-jeebies?

[source]

As a child, I was downright terrified of the scene in “Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory” when Violet Beauregarde swells into a human-blueberry.

Somehow, this translated into an extreme dislike for the actual fruit. While my fear of flying monkeys faded with time, I held onto my irrational aversion to blueberries.

It wasn’t until I was faced with a dilemma of “blueberry-pancakes or bust,” that I was finally forced to face my phobia.

One bite in and I was sold.

Why had I deprived myself of such a delicious treat for all of my life?

Since that time, I’ve made every attempt to make up for lost time. A few days ago it was blueberry cinnamon rolls. This morning it was…

Blueberry Oatmeal Bread

Ingredients:

  • 1 C oats
  • 1 C unsweetened vanilla almond milk (could use skim milk)
  • 1 flax egg
  • 1/4 C unsweetened applesauce
  • 1 t vanilla extract
  • 1/2 C all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 C whole-wheat flour
  • 1/8 C sugar
  • 1/2 C blueberries (frozen, fresh or even dried)
  • 2 t baking powder
  • 1/2 t salt

Directions:

  • Combine oats and milk in large mixing bowl. Allow to soak for 10 minutes.
  • After 10 minutes, add the flax egg, applesauce and vanilla. Mix until combined.
  • In another bowl, combine flours, sugar, blueberries, baking powder and salt.
  • Add half of the flour mixture to the wet mixture and mix. Then add the second half of flour mixture and mix until combined, but do not over-stir.
  • Bake in greased loaf pan in a 425 degree oven for 25 minutes, or until skewer comes out clean.

I actually threw this bread together while getting ready for school this morning. By the time I was groomed, clothed and caffeinated, the bread was ready for consumption.

Best of all, unlike some other breakfast pastries, this didn’t leave me in a sugar-coma all day. (I should mention that, although it’s delicious, this isn’t really a sweet-bread. I added an extra smear of PB and jelly to kick it up a bit. I also had a big ol’ green monster for breakfast.)

In other news, I have this fun little habit of getting hit with allergies at the exact same time (to the date) every year.

And that time is… Now.

Representing my feelings toward allergies.

Rather than suffer it out, I killed two birds with one stone by visiting the doctor for my already-needed blood work.

I’ve been around the allergy-block a few times, so I wasn’t too surprised by the doctor’s advice to take some antihistamines.

The icing on the cake was getting a needle stuck in my arm. Wohoo!

At least I got a cute little Jayhawk drawn on my band-aid.

Later in the night, I got a call back from the doctor, who said that my preliminary blood work indicates that my iron is very low.

This wasn’t particularly surprising.

As a vegetarian, I make a very intentional effort to get adequate iron in my diet. Also, thanks to heredity, I am predisposed to anemia. This means that I have to be extra diligent about my iron.

Generally, I can tell that my iron levels are slipping if I feel unusually tired, have low energy or have strong urges to chew on ice.

In time, I’ve learned that it helps to eat fortified cereals, dark greens, beans and a lot of veggies.

However, my doctor suggested that I start taking an iron supplement to ensure my levels remain balanced.

Whew, wasn’t that just thrilling? At least I started with the blueberry bread…

Questions: What were you afraid of as child? Did you grow out of this fear?

5 responses to “Banish blueberry blues

  • Erin

    You’re so cute! But I can see where that scene in Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory may be frightening. Blueberries are DELICIOUS, and there are so many wonderful things you can do with them. Plus, they are packed with antioxidants, fiber, and all that good stuff. I buy them in bulk when they’re on sale, and freeze them for later use. ❤

    I've always been scared of heights. And always will be! Pretty common. Oh, and another – PUBLIC SPEAKING. Funny since you will do that as part of your career. I have always, always hated speaking in front of people. I think it's a bit of social anxiety at work – I wish it wasn't an issue!

  • Anne@ Food Loving Polar Bear

    I’ve always been afraid of bees, I hate them!

  • sophia

    Hahaha!! Afraid of blueberries! Oh that cracks me up.

    I was terrified of my parent’s death. I had a nightmare once of a gruesome death of my dad, and got so paranoid about that for a few years after.

  • Purple (non)people eater «

    […] Blueberry oatmeal bread with a bit of margarine and a bit of […]

Leave a Reply

