Purple (non)people eater

Sometimes I have to dig deep and come up with a theme or topic for my blog posts. Other times, a trend just presents itself.

Today was one of the days that, as I was looking through my pictures, I couldn’t help but notice a motif: Purple, purple and more purple (with a side of a lot of food)…

It all started off with a purple bowl of goodness.

Consumed: Oats, spoonful of PB, dark chocolate chips, granola and drizzle of Agave nectar.

Keeping with the purple trend was my outfit of the day.

It featured a purple cardigan, purple necklace and…

Purple shoes!

With only two classes, my Friday morning (fortunately) went by pretty quickly.  Then, (unfortunately) I had to stake out the newsroom for a while working on scripts and doing newsbriefs.

A little bit after noon, I took a break to snack on some purple-spotted trail mix.

Consumed: Whole wheat cereal, almonds, (purple) dried dates, dried cherries, dark chocolate chips and PB M&Ms.

For the main course, I had a wrap with a purple placemat (aka, my journalism folder).

Consumed: Flat Out tortilla, thin smear cream cheese, roasted red peppers, salsa and (purple) kidney beans.

My pantry was in desperate need of restocking, so the wrap was a little random. Still, it was super delicious.

Even more importantly, it gave me a good amount of energy for my heat-of-the-day run with Dan.

By the time we got back from our run, I was ready for snack.

Consumed: Blueberry oatmeal bread with a bit of margarine and a bit of PB.

That got me to thinking: Have you ever noticed that blueberries are actually more purple? “Purpleberries” would be so much more accurate…

With my most random musing of the day aside, I showered, got ready and then drove down to Kansas City with Dan.

This semester, Dan is making dinner for his scholarship hall on Friday nights. So, to celebrate our last Friday of freedom, we decided to go to the Plaza.

Although there was a wide variety of amazing restaurants, we were both in the mood for Chinese. That meant just one thing: P.F. Chang’s.

It’s been years since I’ve been to a P.F.’s, so I was excited to try it again.

We called ahead, so we didn’t have too long of a wait. In fact, it was just long enough for me to snap a few pictures of a really cute boy…

Then there was something in the sky…

Well I saw the thing comin’ out of the sky
It had the one long horn, one big eye
I commenced to shakin’ and I said “ooh-eee”
It looks like a purple eater to me

Before I knew it, we we seated! I wasn’t a vegetarian the last time I was at P.F.’s (which really shows how long ago it was), so I didn’t know what to expect from the menu.

I was pleasantly surprised to see a very vegetarian-friendly selection. There was even a special symbol beside off the non-meat dishes.

I was craving something pretty light. The Buddha’s Delight fit the bill.

Consumed: Perfectly steamed veggies, five-spice tofu and brown rice (wohoo!). All was doused with the “special sauce” that our waitress prepared.

The dinner ended with a fortune cookie. Just the way that any good Chinese meal should…

Taking advantage of the wonderfully cool weather, Dan and I walked around the Plaza for a while.

For those of your keeping track, I was wearing a purple dress…

And… The end.

Questions: Do you find that you wear the same color a lot? What do you do to celebrate special occasions?

8 responses to “Purple (non)people eater

  • Katie

    Oooo I love your outfits!! And I love that blue jean jacket you’re wearing. The food at PF Chang’s looks so good and light! I always have a hard time with that restaurant because I know there’s a lot of unhealthy options on the menu. I always try to look for something healthy and delicious and YOUR meal looks awesome! I’ll have to try it sometime!

  • Anne@ Food Loving Polar Bear

    Your purple shoes are cute!

    I usually wear a lot of black but sometimes I try to spice it up with some colour.

    We usually celebrate special occassion with FOOD, what could be a better way?! 😛

  • Erin

    I LOVE PURPLE! I never really cared for it until I began doing my wedding planning – our colors ended up being gold and a deep purple. They work so well together. ❤ Dark purple is the way to go – plum, aubergine, etc. Gorgeous!

    I don't wear the same color a lot… fortunately, I've varied up my wardrobe. I've grown an interest in animal prints lately, so I guess I am drawn to blacks and browns. I don't wear white well, though!

    Oh, and your purple shoes are FANTASTIC! I love the bold punch of color on your toes – what a great contrast.

  • Jessica@tastyandtrim

    Love your blog! I tend to wear a lot of neutral colors like browns, blacks, and greys. I love color but I have noticed that my wardrobe is more neutral than anything 🙂

  • What Kate Ate

    I love purple. I wear a lot of solid, easy to mix/match colors but I love having bright pieces (like those cut shoes) to jazz things up.

Leave a Reply

