Biker gang

School. Seven days down. An infinite number to go.

Although I really enjoy my classes, I was definitely ready for a break from most things “intellectual” by the time the weekend hit. Knowing that I couldn’t run away from my problems, I decided to bike away from them…

It almost seems pointless for me to say that the morning started off with breakfast. Doesn’t it always?

Regardless, this morning was especially delicious.

Consumed: Oats, strawberries, a few dark chocolate chips (yay, weekend!), PB and sprinkle of granola.

The goodness of oats, peanut butter and a little sugar was just the fuel I needed for what Dan and I had in store: A 35-mile out-and-back bike ride to a local lake.

We had been planning the ride all week-long. But, with the curveballs of allergies and anemia-diagnoses, we began to doubt…

Fortunately, God blessed us with low-humidity, comfortably warm weather.

We took the ride at a pleasant pace, focusing more on the company than the speed. Still, we did move along at a pretty good clip, completing the first 15 miles at six-minute mile pace.

Just as our stomachs began to growl for lunch, we made it to the lake.

First things first, we took a breather. However, I didn’t have to waste time with “rehydrating.” I’d been doing it all along!(Don’t worry, Dad, I wore my helmet!)

It was the first time I tested out the CamelBak, and I have to say that I really loved it. During the first mile, I worried that the straps would be too irritating. But, after loosening it a bit, I was perfectly fine.

The CamelBak was especially ideal for a bike ride, since I didn’t have to stop to get a drink of water. I think it would also work well for a run, but I would have to wear sleeves to avoid chafing with the straps.

After catching our breaths, we dove into our pre-packed lunch.

Consumed: Flat Out Wrap with brown rice, steamed veggies and honey mustard. Also had some fresh strawberries.

One of the potential issues of me being a vegetarian is that I don’t always have food to offer Dan. We even talked about home bringing some luncheon meat to store at my house.

Fortunately, for now, he really likes my black bean burgers.

Since it isn’t a meal unless it ends with something sweet, we topped it off with a few of Effie’s Homemade Oatcakes.

I really like that the cookies are sweet, but also have a subtle saltiness to them. They really hit all the bases. Now can I just chocolate cover them? (Oh, no, I just planted an idea in my own head…)

It wouldn’t a visit to the lake without dipping our toes in the water.

For dignity’s sake, I’d rather not admit it, but I took an embarrassingly slow-motion fall from my bike as I was turning onto the sand.

My pride was much more hurt than my body. Dan didn’t even make too much fun of me. (Reason #47 why I like him so much.)

After that, Dan jumped in the water for a bit, but I stuck to knee-high wading. No one likes a soggy-shorts bike ride.

Thanks to a good breeze, we made even better time getting home than getting to the lake.

I was a bit of a sweaty mess upon getting home. But, keeping my priorities in line, I first snacked on some trail mix.

A shower and longer-than-intended nap later, I headed over to Dan’s for a pleasant surprise: He was making dinner!

Consumed: Omelette with cheddar, feta, tomatoes and mushrooms. Served with a side of wheat berry toast.

I’m not bragging about my boy or anything, but he makes a real mean omelette. Julia Child and her 13-page omelette guide might just want to take note…

And, just to set the record straight, the only thing I was in charge of was the toast. Yes, it was burned. Yes, it still tasted good.

I had the foresight to save a bit of room for our post-dinner double date with Rebecca and Cameron.

Cameron and Rebecca... Our guests for frozen yogurt!

Even though we dreamed about it all summer, Rebecca hadn’t yet been to 3 Spoons. I was more than happy to join her to change that.

It’s just two weeks old, but 3 Spoons has really caught on fast. I think that half of Lawrence was there! No problem, though. The reward was worth the wait.

Consumed: Cappuccino frozen and cake batter frozen yogurt. Topped with raspberries, Oreos, pretzels and a few M&Ms.

When Dan and I got back to his place, “Forrest Gump” was on TV. Naturally, I had no choice but to stop and watch it. The rest of the night was on a similar low-key note, which was just fine by me.

Questions: If you have a significant other, what do you enjoy doing together? Do you have any movies that you just have to stop and watch?

Dan and I enjoy working out, cooking and going to church. However, it really doesn’t matter what we’re doing. I just always have fun with him.

As for movies, I also have to watch “Titanic” every time it’s one… Even though I own the DVD!

4 responses to “Biker gang

  • Erin

    I love biking! I miss it so much! It’s not easy to do here in Los Angeles.

    That omelet looks absolutely amazing! I often mix it up and throw a few things in. One of my favorite things to do is top it with parmesan cheese.

    My husband enjoy doing most everything together. 🙂 He’ll go shopping with me and not complain, but I think he’s most happy when I go to the movies with him – he loves going to the theaters. 🙂

    If Overboard is ever on television, I have to watch it.

  • barneymccoy

    Glad you wore a helmet…Love, Dad

  • Etta

    I would have much preferred to have taken a fall in sand as opposed to the concrete I had the misfortune of meeting yesterday.

    Thanks for your comment on my blog, I hope you’ll stick around!

  • Anne@ Food Loving Polar Bear

    We love eating together, travelling and going out to eat and see a movie. I also love cuddling on the sofa with him and doing nothing 🙂

    Forrest Gump is the best, I always watch it on TV even though I’ve seen it hundreds of times. It’s the same with Green Mile, Pretty Woman, Dirty Dancing…

Leave a Reply

