Eat dessert first

Some days, I find comfort in the standard “breakfast/lunch/dinner” rotation.

Other days, my eating is a little more sporadic. A little more random. And, often, a little more enjoyable.

Today was one of the days where I just had to let loose, pull my fork out and eat dessert. Life is too short, after all.

The day began with oatmeal, aka “chocolate-covered strawberries.”

Consumed: Oats, PB, fresh strawberries, sprinkle of granola and dark chocolate chips.

Dan and I had been testing out a few new churches in town, trying to find a good fit. This morning we ventured to a non-denominational church on the outskirts of town. Dan had directions to get there, and I trusted his navigation. But, when we hit gravel roads, I began to wonder what I was in for…

As soon as we walked in the door, we were greeted with a friendly handshake and “Hi, how are’ya?”

The service only got better from there. With a good mix of college students and community members, the sermon was fun, but with vivid message.

Coincidentally, there was a post-service pizza lunch for college students. Although I’m not much of a pizza fan, I still wanted to go socialize a bit…

Plus #16 for the church, there was salad. Plus #17, there were also M&Ms and chocolate-covered pretzels.

Consumed: Caesar salad with a side of M&Ms and chocolate-covered pretzels.

When Dan and I walked out to the truck, I think we both knew our search for a church was complete. It was just such a welcoming, inspiring and uplifting morning…

A while after I got home, I felt as though I needed a more well-rounded lunch.

I picked up a new (to me) yogurt at the store the other day. The flavor was pretty good, and there were even real blueberries mixed in. However, since I’ve become accustomed to Greek yogurt, I was a little disappointed by the watery texture.

It wasn’t much of a problem, though. I just bulked it up with a little PB2 mixed right in and some granola on top.

Consumed: 1 yogurt, PB2 and granola.

I spent the rest of the afternoon catching up on the homework I had been avoiding unable to do during the week.

In anticipation of a busy week, I decided to move the 4-mile run I have scheduled for tomorrow to today. (Even with the bike ride yesterday, my legs were still feeling pretty good.)

After a run through the shower, I went up to the newsroom for a quick meeting. When I drove home, the bright of the day was right in my eyes.

Rather than do the logical thing of put on some sunglasses, I went with the “squint-and-shield” method.

Disclaimer: This is a reenactment. Do not attempt to take picture while actually driving.

When I got home, some apples sitting on my counter were giving me a mean stare down, so I decided to do come baking. Not sure of what I wanted to make, I just threw together a few things in my pantry.

Apple and Bran Bars

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 C bran cereal
  • 1 1/2 T margarine
  • 1/2 t cinnamon (divided)
  • 1/2 t vanilla (divided)
  • 2 medium apples, peeled and chopped
  • 4 dates
  • 5 T brown sugar
  • Sprinkle white sugar

Directions:

  • In food processor, mix up cereal, butter, 1/4 t vanilla and 1/4 t cinnamon until crumbly.
  • Press mixture into the bottom of 8-inch casserole pan. Bake in 375 degree oven for seven minutes, or until firmed up. Remove and set aside to cool.
  • Combine apples, dates, brown sugar, 1/4 t vanilla and 1/4 t cinnamon in food processor. Mix until well-mixed. Spoon into another casserole dish. Sprinkle with white sugar. Bake in oven for 25 minutes, or until all apples are tender.
  • Spoon apple mixture onto cooled crust. Refrigerate for at least and hour before cutting into bars. Store in the refrigerator.

Naturally, I tested out three one of my bars. For a little this ‘n’ that, these turned out delicious! They had a good granola bar element, but with an apple pie-esque sweetness.

Once again, I didn’t feel that it was a well-rounded meal. So, I topped off my dessert with a little dinner.

Consumed: Green Monster with small vanilla yogurt, 1/2 banana, handful of spinach, spoonful PB. Topped with a bit of granola and bunny grahams.

I don’t eat this way everyday. When it comes down to it, I don’t even want to eat this way everyday. But, sometimes it’s just nice to eat what comes my way… Even if that is dessert before dinner.

Questions: Do you eat sweets throughout the day or save them for special occasions? Do you wear sunglasses?

I don’t make a habit of eating sweets throughout the day, but if something really special comes along, I don’t deny myself. As for the sunglasses, I will wear them, but they always seem to give me an even bigger headache than just squinting.

15 responses to “Eat dessert first

Leave a Reply

