Shake dat’ Laffy Taffy

Know how they say a picture is worth a thousand words?

If that is the case, then these “thousand words” are enough to completely summarize my life at this point.

For as much time as I’m spending in the newsroom, I’m really reconsidering my decision to pay rent at a separate apartment.

I mean, give me a cot and I’d call it home. The glow of the computers would even make good night-lights.

Ok, maybe I’m being a little melodramatic. (Shocking, right?)

In fact, my morning started off on a refreshingly semi-leisurely pace. My excitement about this was only amplified by the amazing breakfast awaiting me…

Consumed: Overnight oats with vanilla yogurt, oats, chia seeds, frozen blueberries and 1/2 banana. Topped in the morning with a scoop of Raspberry Galaxy Granola and a spoonful of PB.

Aside from my oats being particularly patriotic, they were also particularly delicious, something that I attribute to the great texture contrast.

Side Note: I am an absolute nut about texture. I need some kind of crunch in things! This passion is so intense that I’ve even been known to pass on ice cream if there isn’t something crunchy in it. For that same reason, it goes without saying that all of my PB is of the extra crunchy variety!

As per usual, the morning was spent in class… Honors Western Civilizations, to be specific. And, let me tell you, Ancient Greece has never been so thrilling. (Did that sound convincing?)

I literally (and I use that word with extreme caution, thanks to editing) ran to the newsroom to write my brief. Then, I sprinted another hill over for a quick consultation with my doctor.

As expected, my lab results from the other day indicated that I am anemic.

The good news is that this has a pretty easy fix; All I have to do is pop a few iron supplements.

The bad news is that, according to my doctor and pharmacist-in-training boyfriend, the supplement can do a little number on my stomach. Apparently, straight-up iron is not easily metabolized.

However, in this case, the pros definitely outweigh the cons. These past few weeks, I’ve been abnormally tired, sluggish and slow in my workouts. With school starting up and half-marathon training in full swing, this has resulted in a lot of frustration.

If all it takes to get back to being “myself” are a few days of upset stomachs, then that’s something I can deal with.

Any who, I did have enough energy to do my necessary sprint from the doctor’s office back to the newsroom. I made it back just in time for the noon newscast. If anyone asks, the glisten on my cheeks is from blush, not sweat.

Then it was time for my favorite part of the noon-hour…

Consumed: Red Romaine lettuce, carrot sticks, kidney beans, sautéed potatoes, sunflower seeds, scoop of cottage cheese and drizzle of honey mustard.

Truth be told, I took my morning at a little too leisurely of a pace. Therefore, I was rushed in making lunch and ended up throwing together whatever was on hand. Regardless it still turned out really good. It’s just hard to go wrong with salad.

While I was eating my junk-yard salad, the real star of the show was chilling in the newsroom freezer…

A new-to-me apple cinnamon flavored Raw Revolution bar. The bars are good at room temperature, but the real key is to eat them cold. I threw this one in the freezer somewhere between sprinting from class to the doctor’s. About one hour later, it was good to go.

After another class (ask me anything about China from “Mao to now,” I dare you…) I was able to spare a bit of time with Dan. What began as an insightful Dr. Phil investigation into dysfunctional families quickly turned into an unplanned nap on the couch. Whoops.

Fortunately, I woke up in time to go by home and grab a “this needs to be quick” snack.

Consumed: Cottage cheese, unsweetened apple sauce, drizzle of Agave nectar and crumbled apple and bran bar.

This was actually eaten in the process of running around the kitchen, throwing together my dinner to-go.

I did a quick mental scan (Dinner? Check. Homework? Check. Laptop? Check. Patience? err…) and made it out the door to the newsroom for my long-editing shift in record time.

A few perfected stories and Laffy Taffy wrapper jokes later,  I was ready for an excuse to get away from my computer dinner.

Consumed: Brown rice, steamed “Asian vegetable blend,” sunflower seeds, ginger-apricot sauce and a small bit of cream cheese.

For something thrown together offhandedly and distractedly, this was actually top of the line. Extra sweetness was provided by an apple on the side.

By the time that my normal bedtime rolled around and I had to accept I’d be in the newsroom for another four hours, I decided to pop some popcorn.

Oh, yeah, this stuff is good.

And that, give or take four more hours of copy editing, was my night.

Questions: What kind of food texture do you like? Do you have any favorite jokes?

As mentioned, I’m all for crunch. For jokes, I have to go with the classic “Why don’t seagulls live over the bay?” (First one to answer wins my admiration.)

13 responses to “Shake dat’ Laffy Taffy

  • Anne @ Food Loving Polar Bear

    Oh, popcorn! I haven’t had any in ages.

    Too bad about the blood results, but I hope you’ll get your energy back soon 🙂

  • Jessica @ lacesandlattes

    – Because they would be bagels. 😉

    As for favourite jokes…I have a horrible problem of only remembering the off-colour ones.

    Also, way to stay organized with your crazy schedule! Keep your chin up; it looks like you are doing a great job. 🙂

  • christina

    i think soft foods and liquids are my favorite. i guess i’m ready for dentures. haha!

  • Michelle (Delightfully Dietetic)

    Anemia is a pesky problem to have. I’m there with ya. And its hard to get rid of the sluggish feeling some days. But it’s not completely hopeless. Of all of the deficiencies you could have, its really not a bad one. Don’t just rely on pills though, try to eat more red meat. I know I hate red meat too… but your body will thank you!

    And your rice looks so good! I have brown rice at home… hm maybe my dinner? 🙂

    And I like pretty much every texture except for things super crunchy like onions. Yuck!

    Oh and this is my first time here, so hello! 😀

  • Katie

    I’m glad you’re getting the anemic thing sorted out! I’m sure that must be frustrating and annoying but at least it’s easily treatable 🙂
    And I think that crunchy foods are probably my favorite! I had waffles this morning for bfast and I like them when they’re nice and crispy!

  • Katie

    PS: I like the name of your blog post! hahaha

  • Erin

    I’m a texture nut, too! With the ice cream – I have to have something crunchy, too – I think that’s why I like Blizzards so much. But here at home i have to add chocolate, or sprinkles at least, for texture. I always add nuts to my Frosted Mini Wheats, nuts and raisins to my oatmeal, etc.

    Do you notice a lack in energy due to your anemia? I think I am borderline anemic, and my mom is always telling me to take my iron pills – they work. I bought a bottle several years ago but never used them…

    • pursuitofhealthfulness

      We definitely sound alike with the texture thing!

      I’ve been extremely tired and my workouts have been much lower on energy. At first I thought it was my thyroid, because I have trouble with that, too. I got blood tests done and that showed it was my iron. I started taking supplements yesterday, and really hope they kick in soon!

  • Courtney (Pancakes and Postcards)

    Crunch crunch crunch!

    I was anemic for a while. Iron pills totally helped.

Leave a Reply

