Looks can be deceiving

There was a time when I thought that “thinness” was a synonym for “healthfulness.”

When I first began learning about nutrition, the over-whelming majority of information was about losing weight. It seemed as though the more weight lost equals the more success achieved.

With that in mind, the only way I thought I could personify healthfulness was to lose weight — even though I really had none to lose.

During the course of less than a year, I went from a strong, energized and realistically healthy person…

To someone too frail to work-out. (According to my doctors, although for a while I still did… Not a good idea.)

My view of what was “healthy” was so distorted, I could even see what was right in front of me. Fatigue, chills, brittle hair and nails, jutting bones… That is not healthfulness.

But, wasn’t that what I was supposed to look like? I had lost so much weight. Is that not a success story?

As I look back on the few pictures taken of me during that time, my stomach churns.

My looks were deceiving, at least to me. Now, I have a few extra pounds on my frame. But, I also have more energy, happiness and passion for life.

If that isn’t healthfulness, then I don’t know what is.

Another case of “looks being deceiving?”

It says “peanut butter,” so it must be peanut butter, right?

Wrong.

The upside of finishing off my jar of PB was that it offered the perfect storage space for a batch of cashew butter.

I had done a few trials of nut butter in the past. But, this was the most successful, something that I attribute to soaking the cashews overnight.

Here’s the process: Cover cashews in water and allow to soak overnight. In the morning, drain the cashews. In food processor, grind cashews until crumbly. Add a splash of vanilla, a drizzle of Agave nectar and dashes of cinnamon and salt. Continue to grind until desired consistency is reached.

Questions: What do you think is the picture of “healthfulness.”

6 responses to “Looks can be deceiving

  • Katie

    Wow that’s an awesome post!! Congratulations to getting back on track. You’re already skinny as it is and very healthy! You’re beautiifuullll!!!

  • Bianca @ Confessions of a Chocoholic

    I’ve never been thin but there was also a (sad) time when I thought being thin means being healthy. Thankfully I’ve learned so much over the last few years and I’m working my way to being truly healthy – someone who can run, lift weights, do yoga, and feel strong and comfortable with my body.

  • Megan

    I LOVE this post. Especially when you talked about how a few extra lbs can equal more happiness and more of a passion for life! Thank you!!

  • Marina

    I thought thin=happy&healthy.
    But I was wrong. Cold all the time, with awful nails, pale face and blue fingernails was awful, and not healthy or happy.

  • Jessica @ lacesandlattes

    Our stories are quite similar. I can echo your words that thin does not mean healthy!!!
    You are glowing. 🙂
    Healthy to me means looking in the mirror and loving my body for where it is NOW, not where I want it to be or where it was. It means being thankful for a strong body.

  • Circe

    thank you for writing so candidly about your experiences, and congrats on living such a full, healthy life, I’m very impressed by your meals, you seem to put a lot of time and thought into them.

    all the best

    ps. thanks too for the yoga pictures from Europe they made my day yesterday.

Leave a Reply

