Freebies… Do I have your attention?

Since modesty is my favorite thing about myself, I try to avoid tooting my horn.

No use in denial, though: I am really generous… Oprah and her car giveaway should take notes.

That is why on this fine day I am sharing not one, but two freebies with you lovely people.

My first donation comes courtesy of a couple of over-ripe bananas.

My freezer was already pretty well stocked with bananas (for smoothies and banana soft-serve), so I decided to put these to another use.

I scanned some recipe books for inspiration. I settled upon muffins, but had a strong craving for PB (what’s new?). Finding nothing that fit the bill, I improvised a bit.

Peanut Butter Banana Muffins


Ingredients:

Muffins:

  • 1 1/2 C whole wheat flour
  • 1 C oats
  • 1 t baking powder
  • 1/2 t baking soda
  • 1/2 t salt
  • 2 T unsweetened applesauce
  • 1/4 t vanilla
  • 1/4 t cinnamon
  • 1/2 C brown sugar
  • 2 flax eggs
  • 3/4 C mashed banana (about two medium)
  • 1/2 C natural peanut butter (I used chunky)
  • 1 C light buttermilk

Glaze:

  • 1/4 C melted natural peanut butter (Lazy college student style: Nuke it!)
  • 1/4 C skim milk
  • ~1 C powdered sugar
  • 1/2 t vanilla
  • 1/2 t cinnamon

Directions:

  • In a large bowl, mix flour, oats, baking powder, baking soda and salt.
  • In medium bowl, combine applesauce, vanilla, cinnamon, brown sugar, flax eggs, mashed bananas, PB and buttermilk.
  • Make a well in the flour mixture. Pour in applesauce mixture. Combine, but do not over-mix.
  • Divide evenly in a greased muffin tin. Bake for 16-20 minutes, or until toothpick comes out clean. Note: I used a mini-muffin tin and cooking time was about 17 minutes.
  • Meanwhile, combine all ingredients for glaze. Allow muffins to cool slightly before topping with glaze.

Although packed with the goodness of oats, whole wheat flour, banana and healthy fats, these muffins are not the healthiest in my repertoire.

Not to worry about the ol’ figure, though. Some new additions to my workout wardrobe make me even more eager to squeeze in some sweat time…

Running shorts on sale? Score.

Awesome headband fo’ free? Double score!

With my hair at the shortest it’s ever been and an upcoming (sure to be messy) half-marathon, I was eager for something that could reliably keep my face clear.

To my great luck, the wonderful folks at Bondi Band sent me a peace-inspired headband to try out. After just one training run, I was completely in love. The light-weight band stays put and holds my untamed hair in place.

What’s even better is that Bondi Band included another headband for me to giveaway to one (very lucky) reader.

Three standard ways to enter:

  1. Leave a comment telling me what’s your favorite way to workout.
  2. Follow me on Twitter “@Pursuit2Health” and leave a comment saying you did so.
  3. Mention the giveaway on your blog and link back to here.

The giveaway will end at 5 p.m. CST on Friday.

Next up for me? A new pair of running shoes…

For anyone who’s interested in passing a freebie along, keep in mind I’m a size 8.

17 responses to “Freebies… Do I have your attention?

  • jacqueline soboti

    loving the headband and therefore will absolutely share my favorite way to work out!! 🙂

    my favorite time during my runs is somewhere past mile 1 and in between my last mile when i hit the runners high. i kno when i hit it because a huge smile comes over my face and i am in my element. i feel so strongly connected to myself, my soul, and the earth and its in these moments that i feel truly alive and connected. it is this feeling that keeps me reaching for more and encouraging myself to run.

    followed by a little yoga to calm the soul, tame my anxieties and develop a a stronger sense of self and connection/understanding of myself.

    cheers!

  • Katelyn Johnson

    Emily! how perfect they sent you a peace sign headband, I love it.
    My favorite way to workout is definitely running with Bella (10 lb Yorkiepoo for anyone else reading) She is the best pace pusher oddly enough. As a natural distance runner its fun to switch it up and run a fast couple of miles with her. We get to spend time together, which is hard between school and work, and we both get our much needed exercise.
    (comment for running with dogs) try to keep Lola and on shorter leash. Right next to you or just a little bit in front, it helps with the wondering some.

  • Brittany (A Healthy Slice of Life)

    I’ve been anxious to try one of those hair bands! I am a new (wannabe) runner and would love to try one out during my Couch to 5k training and see if it actually stays put 🙂

  • Rachel S

    My favorite way to workout is running when traveling. It makes the time go by so much faster when I’m exploring new locations!

  • AlisonJ

    The headband is awesome! I have rather short hair & after cuts have a little bit of trouble keeping it out of my face.

    My favorite work out is anything I can do with a friend. Just yesterday I was running & a friend joined me and ended up doing a really long (unplanned) run because we were chatting away – it was awesome!

  • Heather

    I like to run – but I’m still not very good at it!

  • Bianca @ Confessions of a Chocoholic

    I’ve been wanting to try those headbands for a while now! My favorite workout for the moment is the cardio kickboxing class at my gym!

  • Olivia

    My favourite workout is running on the treadmill 🙂

  • Vanessa

    My favorite way to workout is running. It is my drug of choice. I’ve been running since middle school and hope to continue until I’m old. Running to me is such a freeing feeling. I’ts my time for me and time I can reflect on my thoughts, and spend time with Jesus. I don’t understand why anyone wouldn’t love it!! I could definately use the headbands when I run!!

  • Jenny

    Would love a bondi band! Currently my form of exercise is running – in the middle of the couch to 5k program!

  • CourtandWhit

    Your pb banana muffins look crazy good! I was just telling whit today that I wanted to make some pb muffins. They were making them on the food network, and we have never made any before.

    My favorite way to work out is through HITT workouts. It is the way the athletes train, builds up your stamina fast, and you get your work out done in a shorter period of time. I LOVE it!

    -Court

  • The news doesn’t sleep «

    […] P.S. Don’t forget about my Bondi Band giveaway! […]

  • Joanne

    The Peace headband is groovy… and totally you! My favorite way to exercise is running. It’s such a drag when I am injured and can’t run. There’s nothing better than lacing up my shoes, heading out the door, and getting into the “zone”. I especially love to run in the winter when it’s hard to get my needed sunshine. And I love that great feeling after a run in the cold and snow. Plus there are great “bragging rights” with my friends and co-workers.

  • snackgirlgoeshealthy

    Those muffins look delicious! We make a glaze similar to that at the bakery I work at!

  • Other Desserts «

    […] Peanut Butter and Banana Muffins […]

  • Desserts «

    […] Peanut Butter and Banana Muffins […]

Leave a Reply

