Hittin’ the books

Although the title should be referring to me, it seems as though the only one around here with any motivation to study isn’t even enrolled in school.

Moving on…

I didn’t set my alarm, but woke up naturally at 7:30-ish. I wasn’t feeling famished yet, so I put the extra time to use by doing some belated chores.

By the time my stomach actually started grumbling, I had accomplished more cleaning up than I had throughout the entire previous week. Score!

Part of the reason I took my time in getting to breakfast, was that I knew there would be minimal prep involved… Thank goodness for overnight oats!

Consumed: Pomegranate Greek yogurt with oats and frozen blueberries. Topped in the morning with a sauce of PB2 and Galaxy Granola.

As always, the oats were great. But, I can’t help think that they tasted even better because of my favorite spoon.

Isn’t it just more fun to eat with cool utensils or out of neat bowls?

This specific spoon is all the more special, because I got it in Berlin this summer!

After breakfast, I still had enough time to squeeze in a little more shut-eye. Sunday afternoon morning naps are pure bliss.

Feeling even more energized, I got ready and headed out for church with Dan. Because of Labor Day and my family’s visit, Dan and I didn’t go to church last week. So, I was extra eager to go back today!

Church is such a nice way to connect with Dan, new people and, most importantly, God.

I love the church, but the long services mean that by the time it’s all over, I’m ready for lunch! Dan and I swung by the store to pick up some tomatoes, because I already had a meal in mind…

Consumed: Flat Out wrap with tomatoes, basil fresh from my garden and sun-dried tomato Laughing Cow cheese.

This was my first time trying the new flavor of Laughing Cow cheese. You better believe it will be seen again on the blog.

After the wrap, I got in my serving of fruit in the form of banana soft-serve.

Consumed: Banana soft-serve with some crunchy PB mixed in. Topped with a sprinkle of espresso trail mix (from Target).

That afternoon, I managed to get a good amount of studying done. I have a lot of little things coming up this week, so I’m just trying to get ahead of it all.

As another part of avoiding the rush, I rearranged my training schedule to run today and take Tuesday off.

This actually worked out in my favor, because today was the first time that the insane humidity really broke. Here’s a flashback to Friday to show you just what I mean…

It was so humid outside that the windows of Dan's hall were fogging up!

After another good run, I did some much-needed stretching. I don’t usually have much patience for stretching, but I definitely notice how much of a positive difference it makes.

I showered and did some more homework. Then, before too long, I was ready for dinner. I made another lazy girl’s baked sweet potato topped with peach salsa and fresh pineapple. The combination may seem unusual, but the flavors work perfectly together.

Unfortunately, my picture turned out blurry… But, I did manage to get a shot of my snacker-style dessert.

Consumed: Dark chocolate M&Ms, espresso trail mix and Annie’s Bunny Grahams.

I grazed on this while doing some more homework. By that time, I was in pretty good shape with my studying.

So, I split my attention between my books and a little bit of TV.

Multitasking at it’s finest, folks.

After a while, I turned off the TV, put away the textbooks and snuggled up with “Eat, Pray, Love” for some quality, non-school related reading.

Perfect end to a wonderfully low-stress weekend.

Questions: What’s your favorite way to destress during the weekend? Do you seek out fun utensil/bowls?

I love the opportunity to sleep in on the weekends, even if I don’t always take advantage of it. Also, the weekends are better times to coordinate with friends for long runs! As for the silverware and bowls, that’s a definite “yes!”

6 responses to “Hittin’ the books

  • christina

    i love cute bowls! they’re fun to look at the whole time you’re eating, and i agree, it definitely makes for a more enjoyable meal. i get so bored using paper bowls and plastic spoons at work :0

  • Megan

    Your trail mix sounds so good! I love bunny grahams. And I forgot how much I missed my flatout wraps! I de-stress by taking a break from school stuff and reading for fun or going out to lunch with friends. Anything non-school related!!

  • Bianca @ Confessions of a Chocoholic

    I still haven’t tried that new Laughing Cow flavor but I’ll be on the look out on my next grocery run! My favorite way to de-stress during the weekend is to sleep in with the bf, nice gym session and an easy homemade dinner!

  • Katie

    Yeah I also love the idea of sleeping in on the weekends even though I probably only get an extra hour. But hey, an extra hour definitely helps! And little things like cute kitchen bowls or something along the lines can always cheer me up and make me happy, hehe! Hope you had a great weekend!

  • Amy struthers

    Tell me more about the overnight oats you reference so often. Sounds easy and yummy!

  • Geni

    LOVE, LOVE, LOVE the doggie picture! So cute. Keep up the good work doggie!

Leave a Reply

