#13: Best cookies ever

No one wants to think about dying, but everyone wants to talk about what they’ll do before “that time.”

In recent years, this phenomenon has been more succinctly described as a “bucket list.”

However, as usual, I was way ahead of that trend…

Digging through some childhood drawings of mermaids, castles and princesses (note: aware of my lacking artistic ability, I steered away from depictions of animals), I came upon a bullet-point list of things I wanted to accomplish in life.

Among the goals were making it to the Olympics, going to every continent, attending the illustrious University of Kansas and baking the ability to consistently bake a perfect batch of cookies.

Ironically enough, the cookies were probably the most challenging on my list.

See, I have a history of flat cookie bakers. When I was growing up, my mom’s cookies always seem to form chocolate-y puddles on the baking sheets. Then, when I started baking, my cookies inevitably seemed to fall to the same fate…

Until today. “#13: Bake perfect cookies” is officially checked off my list.

I should have known it would be a good day when I began with another round of overnight oats. I made these by mixing one container of yogurt with 1/4 C of uncooked oats before I went to sleep. In the morning, I reconstituted it with a splash of milk. I also stirred in a spoonful of PB and topped it with some Yogi granola.

Consumed: Peach yogurt with oats, splash of milk, spoonful of PB and granola.

I actually don’t have much of a problem with Mondays. Whereas everything seems to be moving a million miles an hour by the end of the week, I (usually) feel relatively calm and prepared for the beginning of the week.

My day got rolling with two classes and a news brief. Before I knew it, it was time for lunch.

Consumed: Romaine lettuce with carrots, roasted red peppers, hummus, feta and honey-mustard glazed tofu. Dressed with balsamic vinaigrette.

I had to run off to my afternoon class, so I took lunch “dessert” to-go.

This was my first time trying the “Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip” flavor. Can it be love? I say “yes.”

Working off my rearranged training schedule, I squeezed in a short run during the afternoon. After getting home, taking the necessary shower and snuggling down with some homework, I was ready for a snack.

Consumed: Vanilla Almond Shredded Wheat (best cereal ever) with light vanilla soy milk. Almost another dessert!

And, speaking of dessert…

Almond-Scented Chocolate Chip Cookies

Note that unlike the flat cookies of my past, these cookies were perfectly plump. Even more important, they had the depth of flavor I love with the familiar comfort of chocolate chip cookies.

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 C cold buttery spread
  • 1/4 C white sugar
  • 3/4 C brown sugar
  • 1 flax egg (or real egg)
  • 1 t almond extract (alternatively could use 1/2 t almond + 1/2 t vanilla or simply 1 t vanilla)
  • 1 C whole-wheat flour
  • 3/4 C all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 C ground almonds (pulse in food processor)
  • 3/4 t baking soda
  • 1/2 t salt
  • 1/2 C dark chocolate chips
  • Sea salt

Directions:

  • Grind almonds. Set aside.
  • Mix together cold margarine with sugars. Note: I used a food processor.
  • Add in egg and almond extract while continuing to mix.
  • In a large bowl, combine flours, baking soda and salt.
  • Pour sugar mixture in with flour mixture. Combine, but do not over mix.
  • Add in ground almonds and dark chocolate chips.
  • Refrigerate the dough while preheating the oven to 350 degrees.
  • When oven is heated, scoop dough by the tablespoon onto parchment-lined cookie sheets. Lightly sprinkle with the sea salt.
  • Bake for approximately 13 minutes or until lightly browned.

Now, just take a moment to revel in the deliciousness.

After dessert, I moved onto dinner. And, it seems that my wrap was feeling a little seductive…

Bow-chicka…

Wow-wow. Consumed: Flat Out wrap with salsa, fresh peach, pineapple and Monterey Jack cheese.

I took a mini-bag of lime popcorn into the newsroom for my editing shift. Although the flavors were spot-on, it was a little too buttery for me.

Newspaper production went pretty well, so I got home moderately “early.”

I topped off the night with two more another cookie. I must say that although I am nowhere near ready to go, I can now die happy. Cookie perfection was achieved.

Question: Do you have a “perfect” recipe?

10 responses to “#13: Best cookies ever

Leave a Reply

