Playing make-believe

I’ve never been a big fan of the saying, “Fake it till you make it.”

When I’m sad, I believe I have a right to be sad. When I’m disappointed, I have a right to be disappointed. When I’m mad, I have a right to be mad. (Note: I just try not to let these feelings affect the happiness of those around me!)

But, today I realized that the little mantra may have its merits. Maybe, just maybe, some good can come of playing a little make-believe.

Take for example my breakfast. For that blissful half hour, I was no longer in the middle of cold and rainy Lawrence, Kansas. Instead, I was transported to an island paradise…

Tropical Oats

Ingredients:

  • 1/3 C raw oats
  • 2/3 C water (can use milk)
  • 1/4 t coconut extract (can sub vanilla)
  • 1/3 C fresh pineapples
  • 1 small sliced banana
  • 1/4 C cottage cheese
  • Banana chips (for garnish)

Directions:

  • Cook oats according to directions, stirring in coconut extract at end.
  • Allow oats to cool for about one minute, then mix in cottage cheese. Top with banana, pineapple and optional banana chips.

After breakfast, I had no choice but to face reality and go out into the storm. Fortunately, this offered me my first chance of the year to break out my favorite boots!

The next few hours were all about the first amendment and protests and revolutions. Yes, these are the things that I really do get college credit for.

After some news work, I had my snacker-style lunch. Consumed: Homemade trail mix, apple and almond-scented chocolate chip cookie.

Just forewarning: There will be a lot of apples featured on the blog in the coming months. Although I eat apples year-round, but they are the absolute best in the fall.

Throughout the day, the rain, thunder and lightning only seemed to pick up.

It was definitely a sleepy day… Does rain make anyone else tired? I managed to get in a good nap once I got school and homework all out-of-the-way.

After that, still unsure about dinner, I was filling sometime by looking through blogs. Then, I stumbled upon the skillet pizza featured on Fitnessista.

It sounded absolutely perfect, except for one problem: I didn’t have any yeast. And, being a poor and occasionally lazy college student, I wasn’t in the mood to run to the store.

Instead, I searched online for something I could substitute for yeast in baking. Within a few Google hits, I found a tip that said a mixture of lemon juice and baking soda can be substituted for yeast. Better still, this means that I don’t have to kill an hour waiting for the dough to rise!

No-Yeast Whole Wheat Pizza

Ingredients:

  • 1 C warm water
  • 1 T honey
  • 1/2 T lemon juice
  • 2 C whole-wheat flour
  • 1/2 C all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 t salt
  • 1 T olive oil
  • 1/2 T baking soda

Directions:

  • Mix together warm water, honey and lemon juice.
  • In large bowl, stir together flours, salt and baking soda. Add water-mixture. Add olive oil. Knead for approximately five minutes. Divide dough in half.
  • Heat non-stick skillet to maximum heat. Press one half of the dough into a circle on the skillet. Wait about a minute or two until it bubbles. Flip over, lower heat to medium and top with toppings. (Note: In this case, I used Laughing Cow Cheese, tomatoes and mozzarella. Topped with fresh basil after baking.) After about four or five minutes, remove from heat. May finish under the broiler.

Best of all, I had my favorite dinner guest over. He decided to go a different route with the toppings… Apparently he was “faking it till making it” Hawaiian-style…

Question: Do you ever use food as an excuse to “get away?”

    4 responses to “Playing make-believe

    Leave a Reply

