Spectrums of life

Throughout the course of a day, I often go from highs to lows, extreme stress to overwhelming ambivalence, maximum activity to almost embarrassing laziness…

Before I’m diagnosed with a bipolar disorder, allow me to break it down piece-by-piece. This is because the big picture may seem crazy, but the smaller portions all seem to make sense.

For instance, today…

Food spectrum: Ultra convenience and kitchen creations.

Breakfast started off with another round of scrumptious overnight oats. What’s not to love about great taste and minimal effort?

Consumed: Blueberry yogurt mixed with 1/4 C oats and 1/2 t Chia seeds, topped with frozen blueberries. Stuck in the fridge overnight. In morning, all was topped with some PB2 sauce and crasin granola.

I’m a big fan of delayed gratification. If given the choice, I’d always prefer to do a little extra work now, if it means that I get to relax later.

Living on that philosophy, last night I decided to mix up a batch of homemade granola. That little bit of nighttime effort went a long way toward making my breakfast even more spectacular!

Crasin’ Almond Granola

(Note: This recipe is adapted from Mama Pea’s Cherry Almond Granola)

Ingredients:

  • 2 1/4 C uncooked oats
  • 3/4 C chopped almonds
  • 1/2 C chopped crasins
  • 1/2 t salt
  • 3 T brown sugar
  • 3 T honey
  • 2 T unsweetened applesauce
  • 1/2 t almond extract

Directions:

  • In a large bowl, mix oats, almonds, crasins and salt.
  • In small bowl, combine brown sugar, honey, applesauce and extract.
  • Pour sugar mixture into oat mixture. Stir, to evenly coat the oat (It’s more fun to say without the “s” on “oats”).
  • Spread it all out on a greased cookie sheet. Bake in 250 degree oven for 60 minutes, stirring a few times for even cooking.

Note: Although this is delicious hot and fresh from the oven, I like it even more the next morning when it’s a little crunchier!

Getting back to the whole point of this shebang…

This morning, there was a guest speaker at out church. He was a great orator, plus it’s always fun to hear another perspective.

However, by the time it was all over, Dan and I both agreed it was lunchtime… five minutes ago.

Desperate to throw something together, but still wanting to have a little fun, I decided to go with some Mediterranean inspiration.

On the menu was quinoa seasoned with salt, pepper, lemon juice and fresh basil. Served with artichoke hearts, baby bella mushrooms, tomatoes and roasted cherry peppers. All was topped with feta. After all, feta makes it betta’.

The meal took a little more time than, say, swinging through McDonald’s (or eating overnight oats). However, it was so worth it.

Activity spectrum: 100-miles per hour and utter relaxation.

Aside from the grumbling stomachs, another reason that lunch had to be speedy was that I had a meeting to attend.

After saying goodbye to Dan, who also had a lot of homework, I went up to Dunn Bros. Coffee to stake out a seat.

Consumed: Small iced coffee with sugar-free caramel syrup.

A little while and a little homeworking later, the girl I was meeting with arrived. We straightened out a few details for newsroom operations and then split… Efficiency is my #1 goal in meetings.

Plus, I had more homework and studying to take care of at home. I have two test this Friday, so I’ve been making a very intentional effort to get ahead before the chaos of the week sets in.

However, by 4 o’clock, I was feeling very content with my studying. Therefore, it was time to relax. What better way than with a lazy girl’s apple crisp?

Consumed: 1 chopped apple, sprinkled with cinnamon, splashed with milk and nuked for 1.5 minutes. Then, stirred with spoonful of PB and topped with granola.

After a little more homework, I decided to call it good for the day. I knew it would be nice to relax, but I just couldn’t get my mind off a new trail I had driven by earlier in the day. Since I was already planning on rearranging my training schedule for the week, I decided just to get a run in today.

Running spectrum: Peaceful pavement to treacherous trails.

There was a convenient map at the start of the trail, showing that it would make a loop. Unfortunately, the map didn’t indicate how long that loop so. Nonetheless, I decided to check it out for myself.

I started out on a lightly gravelled, shin-friendly path. After about 15 minutes, I ran into another sign indicating I was about half way.

“Great,” I thought. “This is a good 5K…”

Just a bit after the sign, the pavement came to a deadend and a mostly beaten-down grass trail led the way. Although this could be a deterrent for some, trail running is my absolute favorite. So, with a little more pep in my step, I continued on my way.

However, I guess there was a bit too much pep in my step, because when I went to make a theoretically graceful leap across a creek, my foot slid out on the slippery clay.

Bam.

I got up, dusted myself off and finished up the last mile or so of the trail. Hey, it’s all about the experience, right?

Even with a few bumps along the way, I really liked the new trail. Next time, I might just be a little more cautious with my fancy footwork…

With the combination for homework burnout, post-workout exhaustion and a sense of fear for the upcoming week, I decided to keep dinner simple.

As in, leftovers.

Consumed: Six-inch sub from Mr. Goodcents (purchased after yesterday’s 8-miler) with wheat bread, mozzarella, all the veggies and honey mustard.

Brain-level spectrum: Studying “China from Mao to Now” and watching “Jersey Shore.”

I finished off the day/weekend with a little comatose TV time.

And, as for the final spectrum of the day…

Consciousness spectrum: Action-packed awareness and (sure to be) supreme slumber.

This day, as most are, was obviously all over the spectrum of things. Although sometimes I yearn for a bit more stability, I really do appreciate the excitement that comes along with mixing things up.

Question: Do you experience a lot of “spectrums” throughout the day?

6 responses to “Spectrums of life

Leave a Reply

