Words in passing

Throughout the course of a day, I talk about so many things that it’s even hard for me to keep track.

Usually, the musings are for my own peace and calm. It’s as if when I can articulate my thoughts, then everything makes more sense.

So, it is one of the best feelings in the world to know that I maybe, actually made a little bit of a difference to someone else.

Where did all of this (randomness) come from?

Well, the answer is hardly worth the explanation (did I just contradict everything previously stated?). But, basically, today Dan recalled something small and seemingly mundane that I said in passing a few weeks ago.

I had forgotten all about the conversation Dan mentioned. However, clearly it had left an impression on him.

This incidents not only makes me love and appreciate Dan even more, but also reinforces my love of words, communication and human connection.

Now, I just want to multiply that ability to leave an impression times one million, and I’ll be pleased.

Anyway, moving on to the real matters of the day…

Last night, I weighed my options about overnight oats. Not making them meant that I got to go to sleep earlier, but also that I wouldn’t have a good-to-go breakfast in the morning…

Ultimately, I erred on the side of earlier sleep and decided to wing breakfast. Fortunately, I was able to put my thoughts well enough together at 7 o’clock this morning to make a still-tasty meal.

Consumed: Honey Greek yogurt parfait with banana and crasin granola.

Although the parfait looked delicious, I knew it wouldn’t be truly complete until it was topped with a spoonful of…

Peanut butter! Oh, my heart…

Upon stepping outside, I realized that yesterday’s celebration of the last day of summer was a little premature. It was already 80-ish degrees by 8 o’clock!

No real problem. It was just an excuse to wear another summer-appropriate ensemble, à la “mod.”

Unfortunately, half an hour of hiking walking across campus later and I wasn’t feeling too cute. As was my philosophy for the day, I just brushed that sweaty angst off my shoulders.

Besides, who do I really want to impress in my western civilization class?

After class, I went down to the newsroom. (Do I even have to say that, or is it an established fact by now?)

The good news: Today’s head story was about food and nutrition.

The bad news: Kansans really stink and getting adequate fruits and veggies.

Oh well. Remember that I’ll take any excuse I can to talk

Lunch was nearly identical to yesterday’s. Why mess with a good thing?

Consumed: Italian blend lettuce with feta, baby bella mushrooms, sweet cherry peppers and sunflower seeds. Dressed with balsamic vinaigrette. Another Kashi dark chocolate and cherry granola bar.

Since journalism is always all about telling the complete truth, (haha) I thought I’d give you a glimpse into what really goes on in the newsroom…

Make-up applications with the help of the Mac? I can’t even make fun. That’s kind of genius…

I didn’t think ahead to bring my own make-up to campus, so I went on with my day looking progressively blah-er.

By the time I had another hike walk home, I was cursing the heat for the 126 time this summer (rough approximation).

“Please, fall, please. I need you,” I plead. But, instead of crying empty appeals to Mother Nature, I decided to take this fall-business into my own hands.

And, in the blog world, what says “fall” better than…

Even though there’s been more buzz about pumpkin recipes lately than that generated from a swarm of angry bees, I intentionally held off from the fall-time staple until, well, fall.

Today, with no more cause for delay, I eagerly opened up a new can… Oh, it’s going to be a great few months.

As for the inaugural pumpkin recipe of the season, I went with a classic: Dark Chocolate Chip and Pumpkin Muffins.

It always takes a little while for me to get my ingredient swagger back, so I decided to rely on another recipe. However, I can’t wait to stain my hands orange in the coming weeks, baking up some of my own pumpkin treats!

I packed up the mini-muffins, grabbed a dinner-to-go and went back up to the newsroom for “Editathon,” or the day that was previously known as “Tuesday.”

My muffins went over well with my fellow editors… Then again, when will college students turn down baked goods?

I knew the compliments were really sincere, though, when one of my friends said, “I can’t even tell these are healthy.”

Oh, the sweetest things…

Unfortunately, my dinner wasn’t so sweet. Or even tasty for that matter.

How much can I really expect from frozen meals, though? That just goes to show how worth it is (both in money and quality) to prepare meals at home. Live and learn…

As for the best news of the day: We made deadline on the newspaper!

Never before would I have considered going home at 1 a.m. to be “early.” Newspaper certainly gives me an interesting perspective…

Questions: Are you a pumpkin fan? What are your favorite recipes? Are you a talker, listener or both?

For as much as I love pumpkin, I really despise pumpkin pie. Instead, I stick to breads and cookies. As mentioned, I enjoy talking, but I also love listening. Best of all is conversing with someone who can really return my type of banter!

12 responses to “Words in passing

Leave a Reply

