Education indignation

Oh, pumpkin… The gift that just keeps giving.

Case and point: I used up less than half a can of pumpkin in my muffins the other day. Since that time, I’ve been dreaming up other ways to add it to my meals. Although the options are nearly endless, my favorite practical pumpkin recipe is the ever-classic oats.

Pumpkin Pie Oats

Consumed: 1/3 C oats, cooked as normal. 1/4 C of pumpkin and 1/4 C cottage cheese stirred in. Sprinkled with a generous dash of pumpkin pie spice. Topped with crasins, crasin granola and maple syrup.

Aside from a great breakfast, my day also started off with a lovely session of in-home Pilates.

Now, tell me, how could anything go wrong with a day that started off so great?

Answer: Being late to school. So late, in fact, that I had to sacrifice my normal walk to school for the speedier drive to campus.

Ironically enough, my mood was brightened by the dark weather.

My fall wishin’ is finally coming to fruition! (Would you like some toast with that cheese?)

Sadly, I had to leave the delightfully breezy weather to sit through a few classes.

The thing is, I’ve always been a fan of school. I’ve embraced the title “teacher’s pet.” I’ve taken honors classes in subjects I don’t even have interest in, just to get the credit. I’ve worked hard… But, sometimes I wonder if I’ve sacrificed too much.

While my classmates relaxed, spent time with friends and had mindless fun (shudders) I stayed devoted to school. This only escalated when I lived in the honors dorm my freshman year. Last year, the only distraction from my eating disorder was burying myself in more work.

Not as though I’m not grateful for all that my studiousness has gotten me; Without good records, I wouldn’t have received scholarships that allowed me to afford out-of-state tuition.

Also, getting involved in the honors program was one of the best decisions I’ve made in college. This program allowed me to take smaller classes, learn from great professors and make friends with brilliant, ambitious students.

Still, this year, my motivation has significantly decreased. I’m not throwing in the towel. I’m not dropping out. I’m not even dipping below a 3.8 GPA.

But, I am relaxing, occasionally shutting the books and enjoying the other joys of life.

Whew. How about some more food?

Lunch was devoured (no exaggeration) at my desk.

Consumed: Flat Out wrap with tofu, sweet cherry peppers, romaine lettuce and feta. An apple and trail mix on the side.

After a few hours in the newsroom and my final class of the day, I moved on to those aforementioned “other joys of life.”

That most definitely refers to Dan. Not pool.

However, I have gradually gained an appreciation for the game… Something that I attribute to my fabulous coach.

(Mental note: New addition to the bucket list is to beat Dan at pool someday.)

After playing a few round of pool and suffering equally numerous losses, Dan and I relaxed for a little while. I must say that simply doing “nothing” is one of the greatest joys in life.

Unfortunately, my break came to an end when I was called to go back into the newsroom for a night of meeting and editing. Before that, though, I made a quick stop by the store to grab a delicious dinner, Γ  la salad bar.

It wasn’t quite dinner time when I got back to the newsroom, but my stomach was grumbling, so I settled it with an updated classic: Banana and peanut chocolate hazelnut butter.

Consumed: 2 Wasa crackers, 1 banana and a perfectly portioned pouch of Justin’s chocolate hazelnut butter.

I still can’t get over how delicious Justin’s take on chocolate hazelnut butter is. After a summer of Nutella, I thought nothing could get better. But, (dare I say it?) Justin’s takes the title of top “dessert” nut butter.

Although both have the delicious chocolate and nutty flavors I love, Justin’s gets bonus points for the classic grittiness for my favorite nut butters.

The snack kept me satiated through my meetings and a few stories worth of copy editing.

Around 7 o’clock, I eagerly broke into my dinner, which, appropriately, was wrapped up like a Christmas morning present.

First, the anticipation…

… then my excitement builds…

… and voila! My box of colorful deliciousness.

Consumed: Everything. More specifically, romaine lettuce, bell peppers, beets, carrots, sugar snap peas, regular peas, feta cheese, onions, tomatoes, chickpeas and marinated mushrooms. All dressed with olive oil and red wine vinegar.

I ended my night on a sweet note with some fresh fruit and chocolate whipped cream. It was pictured above, but I dug into it too hastily to snap another picture.

Copy editing wasn’t too bad or too long, although it did throw me off to work on a Thursday night. Fortunately, in between fact checking and correcting grammatical mistakes, I was able to squeeze in some studying for the two tests I have tomorrow.

Need to know anything about the first amendment? I’m your girl.

Protests and revolutions? I could overturn this government with the snap of my fingers.

What sleep feels like? Uhm, well, that is another story…

Questions: Do you like fall food or fall fashion more? What’s your favorite nut butter?

That’s a tough call… I love breaking out my boots, but I have to stay loyal to my foodie roots. Speaking of, my favorite nut butter is Maranatha’s Natural Chunky Peanut Butter.

Friday Fragments: This one’s a quickie, but I read an article from an online trashy tabloid (I usually avoid these. Obviously, I should continue to.) about what celebs do to get in shape before a big event. For the most part, the suggestions from the fitness trainers weren’t too objectionable. I mean, it does stand to reason that cardio and a healthy diet will help a person tone up.

However, I took issue with the fact that the article condoned simply getting in and out of shape, as though it’s the same as getting in and out of a pair of jeans.

Sorry, mortals, fitness should not β€” cannot β€” be viewed as a trend. Healthfulness is a lifestyle, whether it is awards season or not.

Agree or disagree?

13 responses to “Education indignation

Leave a Reply

