Mrs. Balloon hands

I may or may not have intentionally slept through my morning classes. The details just aren’t important…

What is important is that the little extra rest helped me feel a lotta’ extra rejuvenated.

My typical Wednesday morning routine consists of rolling out of bed, still tired from a late night of copy editing, and heading off to a few hours of school. However, because of the tests on Friday, I knew that nothing major was going to happen in the morning’s classes (and, based on the notes my friends took, I was correct).

Instead, when my alarm went off, I hit “off,” rolled over and went back to sleep. It was glorious.

A little while later, my fully rested body woke me up naturally. Knowing that I wasn’t going to make it to class, I decided to take advantage of extra time and go on a four-mile run.

Last year and all through the summer, I was in a great routine of working out first thing in the morning. Although I still don’t think those are my optimal workouts, I really appreciate getting it out-of-the-way. However, my schedule makes that just about impossible to do these days. And, frankly, I’ve missed it.

For that reason, it was really nice to go for an at-my-own-pace run before getting started with the day.

By the time I got back, it was much later than my standard breakfast hour. Since I didn’t need something to hold me over quite as long as usual, I went with my favorite non-filling breakfast…

Consumed: Lightly sweetened shredded wheats, 1/2 banana and unsweetened vanilla soy milk, all sprinkled with cinnamon.

After getting ready, I was still able make it to campus in time for my editing class. Really strange thing, though: About 20 minutes into my walk to class, my hands started tingling, itching and burning. I momentarily freaked out, wondering if I was having a heart attack (left arm tingling) or allergic reaction…

I was on pace with a professional speed walker in getting to class, hoping that I could figure out what was going on. One of my friends said it was probably a blood circulation problem (which is, really, much more rational than a 19-year-old having a heart attack).

Seriously swollen fingers!

My friend said that’s happened to him before while playing tennis, and that it helps to raise his hand above his head.

So, I spent the next half-hour sitting in class with my hand awkwardly raised above my head. And, yes, I had to explain to my teacher that I did not have a question.

Fortunately, after a while it did  the trick, and my hand shrunk back down to size.

Since I gave myself a bit of a break this morning, I really had to get down to business in the afternoon. That consisted of: Writing news scripts, talking with my faculty manager of The Kansan to figure out my life, spending some time in the library and plenty of reading and writing.

With a bit more business under my belt, I was more than happy to go along with some friends to the campus dining court for a lite bite.

Consumed: 3 pita wedges, hummus, tofu, broccoli and grapes. Paired with a non-fat Key lime yogurt.

It was just the right blend of a lunch and a snack to leave my stomach satisfied until dinner.

Even more importantly, it was nice to spend some time chatting with newsie friends away from the newsroom.

After wrapping up a bit more work, I went over to Dan’s place to study a bit more with the company of my favorite boy.

A few hours, a few to-do items checked off my list and a few study breaks later, it was time for dinner.

I love Dan, and I love spending time with him. However, eating dinner at his place usually means sacrificing a good vegetarian option. On tonight’s menu was meatloaf, which was unsurprisingly made of meat.

Usually, I have a good amount of luck with leftover, other vegetables or food in the pantry. But, things were running pretty sparse today. Therefore, I had to break one of my rules by eating the same thing (or things) twice in one day.

Consumed: Green beans, part of a cheese biscuit, MORE lightly sweetened shredded wheat and MORE yogurt.

Breaking that rule (or any rule, for that matter) would have been totally inconceivable to me last year. However, now I know that some days won’t be “ideal” eating scenarios, but that doesn’t mean it’s acceptable to:

  1. Throw a fit
  2. Refuse to eat
  3. Go for an option I really don’t want

In today’s case that meant having the same foods twice. I did it, and I’m still alive.

After dinner, Dan suggested sitting outside and enjoying a cup of ice cream. I wasn’t about to refuse…

Consumed: Strawberry and chocolate ice cream.

I opted for the best of both worlds by going with two flavors.

Dan stuck to strawberry, although he claims that vanilla is his real favorite flavor… To me, that is just so vanilla.

It’s alright. I like him anyway…

But, with a face like that, who wouldn’t?

Questions: What is wrong with my hand? Don’t know? How about, do you try to avoid eating the same thing twice during the day?

12 responses to “Mrs. Balloon hands

  • Circe

    I hope your hand feels better, don’t let it go on too long before goign to see the doctor

  • Kylie @ A Hungry Spoon

    I love the combo of chocolate and strawberry ice cream!

    I definitely don’t worry about eating the same thing twice in a day–if it tastes good and it’s good for me (or maybe even if it’s not!) I’m not one to shy away from double-dipping in a day. Case in point yesterday: a slice of pumpkin bread with breakfast, and one after dinner for an evening snack 🙂

  • Bianca @ Confessions of a Chocoholic

    I do try not to eat the same things for two meals but sometimes I have no choice either (also usually happens at my bf’s! haha). Either that, or the food is just too good to eat just once 😉 I hope your hand feels better soon!

  • christina

    oh my gosh, my feet swell so bad in the heat and even more if i’m drinking beer! it’s nuts!

  • Katie

    Oh my gosh that’s so crazy with what happened to your hand! That’s such like a freak thing since you didn’t know where it came from?! Weird. That’s hilarious though that you kept your hand raised during class to reduce the swelling, haha!
    The food at your dining court actually looks really good! I feel like Auburn doesn’t have anything that looks nearly as fresh

  • Cynthia

    That is so weird about your hand. Hope it gets better. That is hilarious to picture you with your hand raised during class. Too funny. I love bacon and there have been times where I have had to resist eating that twice in one day. Bacon is fine in moderation, but probably not okay several times a day. But its so tasty!

  • Megan

    Sometimes you just gotta skip class in favor of sleeping! And I often have the same thing twice in a day.. usually oatmeal! Hope your hand is better!!

  • Jessica

    I would like to call those days when you skip class “Mental Health Days”. Totally justifiable when you work as hard as you.

  • CaSaundra

    Oh my gosh..my hands used to get like that alot during highschool. I finally went in and the doctor said it was from consuming too much sodium in my diet. Ketchup overload? Yes. I hope you figure it out soon!

  • Angela (the diet book junkie)

    that is very odd about your hand, thank goodness it went back to normal pretty quickly! i know sometimes my fingers swell with the weather, but not tingling or itching. weird.

    i rarely eat the same thing twice in one day, but sometimes you do what you gotta do. especially if it’s cereal 🙂

  • A 90% discount «

    […] for yesterday’s shot of […]

  • Amy struthers

    If it was just one hand, do you think it was a small insect bite? Spiders are everywhere right now as they try to come inside for winter.

Leave a Reply

