Flashback to the ’20s

Which of these things does not fit with the others in my life:

  1. Running
  2. Swing dancing
  3. Eating

I hope the answer is obvious, but more on that later.

First, here’s a quick rewind to Friday…

I started off the weekend early by having a lunch date with my friend Mandy.

We became friends last year when she started writing relationship columns for The Kansan. She has hilarious and all-too-true views, so I always have fun getting together with her. Now, I just need to convince her to start a blog!

The get-together was also a good chance to have an iced chai latte. Chai was my gateway drink to coffee, so it will always have a special place in my heart.

I finished up some work on the newspaper and then headed over to Dan’s to really get the weekend started.

We had planned on going to the recreation center, but the weather was just too nice not to take advantage of. So, instead of hanging out with the gym rats, flexing our muscles and making unnecessary grunting noises while lifting weights, we went out to nearby Clinton Lake.

I think we made the better choice…

We hiked around for a while, making new friends…

… And getting dwarfed by good ol’ Kansas sunflowers.

Before too long, we made it to the view over the lake.

Although I never get tired of taking pictures of Dan…

It’s nice to get a picture together, every now and then. However, sometimes that is easier said than done…

Then again, sometimes the candid pictures are the best…

Just because he makes me smile.

I wish we could have spent more time hiking around, but we had a dinner to get back and make. A few hours, a few dishes and a lot of happy scholarship hall boys later, Dan and I headed over to his hometown for his sister’s homecoming.

Dan’s sister, Claire, was up for homecoming queen, which meant that her parents got to walk her down onto the field.

Meanwhile, Dan and I sat in the stands and played paparazzi…

Claire looked beautiful, walked with poise and was all-in-all stunning. Although she didn’t win, it was just fun to be there.

Immediately afterward, Claire changed into her backup tennis shoes to watch the rest of the game with friends.

Dan, his parents and I retreated to the “older” section of the stands to sit back and watch from Friday night football.

The team won, but more importantly, I got to have another fun time with Dan and his family.

Dan and I socialized with his parents for a little while after the game, but drove back to Lawrence relatively early.

The KU football team had its first Big 12 match-up of the year at 11 o’clock on Saturday morning, so we wanted to get out nine-mile run in before that.

At 9 o’clock we hit the pavement to cool temperatures and a slight breeze. Basically, the conditions were all there for a good run.

That is, except for my own personal motivation.

We were running the same route as the week before, so I knew I could handle it. But, without the incentive of a new challenge, I just didn’t want to… I wanted sleep. I wanted relaxation. I wanted anything that didn’t involve running.

Around three miles, I told Dan how I was feeling. I felt bad, because I knew he could have kept going. But, he said he was alright with cutting the run short.

We went for another two miles, completing a smaller loop and then called it good.

This was the first long training run that I’ve cut short, but I’m not feeling too bad about it.

We definitely made it back in time for the aforementioned game, although we may have been better off just missing it

No time to dwell in defeat, though. We had a dance to set up for!

Dan is the social chair for his hall, so he was in charge of planning the big event for the year: 1920s swing dance.

Balloons were blown, mocktails were prepared and swing music was ready to go. All that was left was to dress the part…

… Practice a few moves…

And then hit the dance floor.

The whole event was a success, but when the music went off the night wasn’t yet over: Dan had committed to watching “Anchorman” for the first time. Maybe now he’ll understand half of the movie references I make…

Surprising myself, I managed to make it through the movie awake. But, when the credits rolled, I was ready for bed.

I drove home, flipped through a few of my leather-bound books (I’m kind of a big deal) and called it a night.

Sunday morning, I slept in later than anticipated, but still managed to get going in time for church with Dan.

The rest of the day was consumed by chores…

… And homework, with some necessary caffeine…

That night I was feeling a little more workout motivated, so I went out for a four-ish mile run.

Once again, I had cool temperatures and a light breeze. But, unlike the day before, I also had the desire to run.

That just goes to remind me not to feel guilty about taking an easy day, whether it be working out, homeworking or simply working. Because, before long I’ll get eagerness back and be ten-times more productive.

Question: What’s your favorite “themed party” theme?

3 responses to “Flashback to the ’20s

  • Katelyn Johnson

    “Diversity? Ah, well I believe Diversity is an old old wooden ship used in the Civil War era. . .”
    I can’t believe it took this long for you to sit him down and watch that! Being able to quote the movie together will make your relationship stronger. I loved your quote by the way. I LOLed for real!
    Themed parties hmmm? tough question. Probably Golf Pros and Tennis Hoes or Jungle but I’ve never been to a bad theme party. Its like a safety net for a good time.

  • Peanut butter, jelly (pie) time «

    […] and point of that: The other day, I planned to divulge the details of my latest […]

  • Lucy Glover

    Wow Emily, what a busy weekend you had. Thanks for coming out on Friday to support Claire. We were all so glad to see you and get to spend time with you two. Claire liked the photo’s you put in. Have a great Thursday. Think pink!!

Leave a Reply

