Abnormalities

I’ll be the first to admit that I’m not exactly “normal.”

Although I’m generally able to mold to appearances enough to fit with society, I am proud of my quirks.

Fortunately, there seems to be another person who is able to tolerate my abnormalities…

As long as he gets some delicious baked goods out of it…

Speaking of which, that is one of my top abnormalities. While friends are out celebrating the weekend with seasonal pumpkin-flavored cocktails, I’m more interested in the real deal.

Dark Chocolate Pumpkin Bread

Ingredients:

  • 1 C whole-wheat flour
  • 1/2 C all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 C sugar
  • 1/4 C brown sugar
  • 1 t baking soda
  • 1 1/2 t pumpkin pie spice
  • 1/2 t salt
  • 1 C canned pumpkin
  • 1/2 C unsweetened applesauce
  • 2 flax eggs (can substitute two whole eggs)
  • 1/4 C water
  • 1/2 t vanilla
  • 1/2 C dark chocolate chips

Directions:

  • In a medium-sized bowl, mix the flours, sugars, salt, pumpkin pie spice and baking soda. Add in the dark chocolate chips. (Hint: That way they don’t sink to the bottom of the pan when everything is mixed together.)
  • In a large bowl, mix the pumpkin, applesauce, flax eggs, water, and vanilla.
  • Add half of the flour mixture to pumpkin mixture and combine. Add the other half of flour mixture and combine, but don’t over-mix.
  • Pour into well-greased loaf pan. Bake in a 350 degree oven for 60-70 minutes, until a skewer comes out clean. Turn loaf out onto cooling rack.

Although delicious, pumpkin bread does not a healthy dinner make.

So, I made do with what was in the fridge by throwing together a delicious meal to share with Dan.

Consumed: Lemon sautéed broccoli, tossed with whole-wheat pasta and a sprinkle of cheese. Dan was in charge of some sun-dried tomato scrambled eggs. We also had some warm butternut squash salad on the side.

As if that wasn’t enough deliciousness for the night, the high temperature for the day had hit 90+ degrees and we had a coupon for free frozen yogurt.

OK, maybe it wasn’t so “abnormal” for me to take that offer up…

Question: What are you “abnormal” about?

I could list quite a few things, but some of the most noticeable are my obsessions with presidents and that I spend Saturday running 11 miles… Which I am about to do… Now.

8 responses to “Abnormalities

Leave a Reply

