As luck would have it

Just like any person with two thumbs, there are certainly things in life that I’m less than thrilled about.

At the end of the day, though, I know I’m pretty lucky…

I’m lucky, because I get to spend time with my best friend. Whether it be going out on the town or getting saving on $5 footlongs, I always have fun with him.

I’m lucky, because I can talk him into running 11 miles with me on an otherwise gorgeous Saturday morning. Even more amazing is that next week, he’s willing to tackle a whole half-marathon right by my side (although he could go much faster). I’m lucky, because I have someone in my life who always makes me laugh. He pretends to see the humor in my jokes, which is a mighty commendable skill.

(Note: When we were running, we passed by a musical record that was laying on a bush. I said, “Looks like someone was record-setting.” He didn’t laugh at that one…)

I’m lucky, because he takes me out for classy dinners. The fact that the entrée was served on a “fish plate” just adds to the sophistication, in my opinion. Although he’s just about all I need to feel lucky, I’m grateful for a few other things…

I’m also lucky, because I get to eat dessert for breakfast.

Oats Brûlée 

Ingredients:

  • 1/3 C oats
  • ~ 2/3 C water
  • 1/4 t cinnamon
  • 1/2 t vanilla
  • 1 banana
  • 1 t brown sugar

Directions:

  • Mix oats cinnamon. Bring water to a boil. Add oats and cook, uncovered for about 5 minutes, or until water is evaporated.
  • At last moment, stir in vanilla and half of thinly sliced banana.
  • Pour into oven-safe bowl. Sprinkle top with brown sugar. Place under broiler, with door propped partially open. Watch until sugar starts to bubble and caramelize.
  • Using oven mitts, remove bowl and place on heat pad. Top with remaining half of banana and enjoy.

And, as luck would have it, I can eat “dessert” without sacrificing health.

Question: What are you lucky about?

Today, I am lucky that I get to spend time celebrating Dan’s 21st birthday. Happy birthday, Boy!

5 responses to “As luck would have it

Leave a Reply

