Early thanks-giving

Rare is it that I take enough time to be truly thankful for all the things in my life.

But, today, with energy to do nothing other than keep up the Kardashians, I made a point to think of what I am thankful for.

First of all, I was thankful to have regained somewhat of an appetite today. Although I still didn’t hop out of bed with visions of an awaiting breakfast, it was a definite step in the right direction to be able to stomach something.

Consumed: 1 whole-grain waffle, small banana, dabs of peanut butter and apple butter.

While pitifully sitting on the couch, munching on my breakfast and feigning interest in the lives of celebrities, I realized that I am also thankful for my life. Plan and simple.

I have a great system of family and friends, who (probably) wouldn’t sell me out to the highest-paying gossip magazine.

I have (usually) a good amount of health, which allows me to spend more time with the great outdoors and less time with my couch.

I also have a real passion for the things I fill may day with, which usually motivates me to take life into my own hands, rather than sit around and pass judgment on the lives of others. (But, seriously, what is Lindsay Lohan going to do?)

Unfortunately, all that intense thinking had worn me down a little bit, so I did persuade myself to relax a little longer.

But, around noon there was no denying that, sick or not, I had things to do.

The only problem was that I couldn’t imagine how I could get to campus to do those things. That’s where my thankfulness for a fantastic boyfriend came into play: He picked me up and drove me to class, which reduced the amount of steps I had to take from 7 thousand to about 50. Good deal.

Still, I was second-guess my whole decision to go to class all the way up until the moment that I sat down and my teacher handed out a pop quiz; If I hadn’t been there, I would have gotten a zero. Therefore, I was thankful to have dug deep and made it to that class.

Afterward, my stomach was sending me mixed signals on whether it was nauseous or hungry. I decided to take a chance and go with the latter. Although, I still had to disagree with the marketing on my package of pretzels…

Now, this is more like it…

I was thankful that it did prove to be “hungry” and the little extra fuel helped keep me going through another busy afternoon of meetings…

In fact, before I knew it, it was 7 o’clock and I was ready to go home. (Insert “again thankful for boyfriend picking me up.”)

Once settled back into the comfort of my home, I felt strong enough to have some of the dinner that I had actually packed for two nights ago.

Consumed: Green Giant’s steamed garden vegetables and a Flat Out wrap.

Even better, I was thankful to have the best nurse in town…

Even is he was a little distracted by the TV.

Although I felt far from my best, my sickness even helped make me thankful for a few things I would have otherwise overlooked. Such as…

  • I was thankful I got sick this week, instead of last when I had my half-marathon.
  • I was thankful to have better perspective on the pains that people experience day-to-day.
  • I was thankful to have understanding professors and coworkers who allowed me to get the rest I needed.
  • I was thankful have begun feeling a little better.
  • I am thankful that tomorrow is a new day, filled with new opportunities and lessons.

Question: Do you make a point of being thankful for things, even on otherwise crummy days?

Before going to sleep every night, I list off the things that I am grateful for. Sometimes it seems difficult to come up with things, but I find that there is always something to be thankful for.

Friday Fragments: You couldn’t pay me a million dollars to advertise KFC’s double down sandwich. You sure as heck couldn’t persuade me to advertise the nauseating diet-buster on my own bum.

Yet, it appears that hundreds of college girls (read: semi-educated) across the country are doing just that!

For only the wage of $500 dollars and a pair of sweatpants, some girls are simultaneously selling their bodies and the infamous sandwich.

I’m opposed… What do you think?

 

 


9 responses to “Early thanks-giving

  • Katelyn Johnson

    Girls in sweatpants selling chicken = epic health fail

  • Katie

    That’s so lucky that you didn’t miss your pop quiz! Pheww!! I’m sick too but I’m realizing there are a few things to be thankful for in my sickness as well. I finally get the time to rest and take it easy. I’m thankful that it’s happening this week where I’m not very busy and I’m thankful to have friends and family checking up on me 🙂 Great post!

  • adventuresofpretendcook

    Those girls are kind of stupid, but oh well.

  • Jessica

    I am totally against the sandwich. It is a bit repulsive.
    And there is a bit of a scandel in Canada because the government is trying to stop it from arriving at our KFC’s.
    We have a one month trial with it, and if it is an epic fail, it is GONE!

  • Jess

    So sorry your sick!! FEEL BETTER!!

  • Natalie

    Oh those silly college girls…unfortunately that’s kind of a *clever* add campaign of KFC.

    I’m glad your feeling better and you got a lift to campus!

    Right before I fall asleep I try to think of a few things I am thankful for in my life. I think it leads to pleasant dreams 🙂

  • bonne_santé

    Accepting the KFC butt-advertisement money would only be ok if you used it to then fund an anti-fried-chicken ad campaign. It’s horrible that these girls are not only promoting a gross multi-national, but are using objectification as a means to sell it! Ugh x2.

  • sophia

    People get bored. They want a stimulus. Hence, the artery-clogging Double Down because it’s “new” and “against the grain.” People are sick of diet lectures, so this is refreshing to them. But come a few months, they’ll get tired of it. Though those girls might make stretch out the couple months longer.

    Love this post though! It takes a bit of energy to be thankful when you feel stressed out or “unlucky”, but when you put your heart to it, you can always find something to be thankful for!

Leave a Reply

