Real day in the life: Afternoon

Hey, welcome back.

I must say I’m a little surprised you still care. But, just to reward you for loyalty, this post will include some better pictures. In fact, I hope that every post to come will contain better pictures, but more on that later…

Not to immediately lose my credibility, the following picture is not one of the “better” ones to which I referred. Instead, it just illustrates how pro I have become at multitasking: Pretty much the only time that I make phone class is when I am walking, from or between classes.

I think my parents have accepted that there will be wind in the background of all of our conversations.

(Public Service Announcement: Someone should invent a phone that blocks out wind. I swear that a light breeze sounds like hurricane-force winds when I’m on the phone.)

Sometimes, though, there is no business to attend to. On those (rare) occurrences, I can simply enjoy the walk to class.

As for another unmentioned fact, I always walk to class (with the exception of maybe five times throughout one and a half years).

But, because my route takes me up, down and all around, I have to make sure I’m prepared.That’s why I make sure my boots are made for walkin’.

The first part of my walk isn’t too enjoyable, with strolling alongside a busy street and whatnot.

But, before too long, I crest a hill…

… And arrive upon a beautiful sight.

 

I wholeheartedly believe that the University of Kansas has one of the prettiest campuses in the country. So, when fall rolls in and the leaves start changing, a view that is ordinarily scenic becomes extraordinarily beautiful.

At that point, my route diverges from campus a bit to take me through a tree-lined neighborhood…

Where, on Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays, I usually run into an aforementioned boy on a bike.

Sometimes he even stops to chat.

Then, (sigh) I must continue on my way and go to actual, grown-up-style classes.

This semester, my course load is definitely enough to keep me busy. I have courses that cover: the first amendment, protests and revolutions, advanced editing, Chinese history (“From Mao to Now”) and western civilizations (which is my only honors class this semester).

Then, when I’m done with all that, I go straight to work at the newsroom…

Where, I keep up my multitasking by juggling every media device possible.

Although lunch is usually consumed at my desk, it is still a moment that I take to slow down.

Consumed: Carrot sticks, non-fat vanilla yogurt, Laughing Cow cheese and pack of Wheat Thins (courtesy of the Kansas City Marathon Expo). Also note that it was a small lunch only due to the fact that I knew I’d be baking some goodness later!


It may only be for a few minutes, but, with a crazy schedule, it’s the little things that matter.

Questions: What’s your midday like? Do you consume lunch on the go, at the desk or among friends?

4 responses to “Real day in the life: Afternoon

Leave a Reply

