National Oatmeal Day

National Oatmeal Day?

I almost couldn’t believe it. A day devoted to my favorite food?

That’s almost as good as a day devoted to me! (Cough, November 14, cough)

Do I even have to tell you what was for breakfast?

Answer: I do, because looks can be deceiving.

Consumed: Oats in a jar, made with 1/3 C oatmeal cooked with pumpkin pie spice, vanilla, bit of frozen pumpkin and 2/3 C water. After cooking, spoon into nearly empty nut butter jar, drizzled with maple syrup and stirred all together. Topped with a few chocolate chips, for good measure.

I must say that I was extremely sad to see this jar of sunflower seed butter come to an end. Although I was a bit skeptical when I bought it, I might now say that it’s my favorite non-peanut butter.

If it had to go, at least it went in style!

But, why am I talking about sunflower seed butter? This day is about the oats!

There are more than a few reasons why I love oatmeal. To name a few:

  • Oatmeal is the perfect canvas for a variety of flavors.
  • It has a great chewy texture.
  • The whole-grains are great fuel for the day.

The list goes on…

Question: Are you celebrating National Oatmeal Day?

 

 

Leave a Reply

