Coming to terms with November

During October, I was allowed to be in denial.

For half of the month, the temperatures regularly neared 90 degrees. For the other half, I was still too enamored with my tan to realize that I was actually the only one who knew it was still there underneath my sweaters.

But, sigh, now it’s November and time for me to come to terms with reality.

And a cruel, cruel reality it is, with things such as “my birthday,” “Thanksgiving” and “winter squash.”

God, spare the children!

Until I find out some way to slow to progression of time (why has no one thought of that ever before?), I figured that it would be best to come to terms with November and the winter that is inevitably hot on its tail.

So, as is often the case, my go-to way of coping with this was by cooking. More specifically, cooking my No. 1. winter staple.

Simply Roasted Veggies

Ingredients:

  • Variety of vegetables (Proven winners are: zucchini, yellow squash, onions, mushrooms, sweet potatoes, butternut squash, white potatoes, etc.)
  • Olive Oil
  • Salt and pepper
  • 2 T parmesan cheese

Directions:

  • Choose your assortment of vegetables. In this case, I used zucchini, yellow squash, a sweet potato and baby Bella mushroom.

  • Wash and chop vegetables. Keep separated.

  • Toss hardest, thickest vegetables (i.e. sweet potatoes, butternut squash, potatoes, etc.) with olive oil (enough to lightly coat) and season with salt and pepper. Roast in 450 degree oven for 10 minutes.

  • While the hard vegetables are roasting, repeat the process with medium thickness vegetables (i.e. zucchini, yellow squash, onions, etc.), add to roasting pan and continue to cook for an additional 10 minutes.

  • Finally, repeat the process with softest vegetables (i.e. mushrooms, tomatoes, etc.), add to roasting pan and cook for 10 more minutes.
  • Allow to cool slightly and then toss with parmesan cheese.

No matter the specific combination, these vegetables are nearly irresistible when warm from the oven.

Resist.

Then, use the vegetables as easy, delicious fillers in salads, sandwiches and eggs throughout the busy weeks preceding finals.

Which brings me to another thing that I dread… But, that’s another story for another day.

Question: What are you looking forward to about November? What aren’t you looking forward to?

I may be turning 20, but I still have a mental countdown to my birthday (13 days, cough, cough). I am also looking forward to spending time with family in Texas for Thanksgiving.

However, I am not so excited about the dropping temperatures. I like the first snow, but then it’s all downhill.



3 responses to “Coming to terms with November

  • Elizabeth

    I saw you commented on my blog a while ago and now I’ve been reading yours! I just turned 20 in August and definitely don’t feel that old. Time goes by so fast!

  • Lucy Glover

    I love Novemember for Thanksgiving and my mama’s birthday was Nov. 19, 1933. Even tho she has passed over and is in heaven I still hold that day special. Also, her brother, my only living uncle on her side will be 81 years old on Nov. 24. He is the uncle in Oregon that Dan talks about. I am so glad to be gaining someone into the family that has a Novemember birthday because two very special people in my life also have and had a Nov. birthday. Now a third special person has her birthday on the 14th!!

  • Entrees «

    […] Simply Roasted Vegetables […]

Leave a Reply

