It’s my party and I’ll bake if I want to

When I was turning three years old, I somehow managed to get three different birthday parties.

Although I don’t remember the details, I do remember thinking that I was supposed to get however many parties for how old I was turning.

If that still stands to reason, I should be getting 20 birthday parties this year.

So, it’s a good thing that I go a head start on it all with a little week-early birthday celebration last night.

Plus, it was really a win-win situation for me, because not only did I get to spend time with friends, but I also had a good excuse to bake it up.

Cookies and Cream Cupcakes

Ingredients:

Cake:

  • 1.5 C whole-wheat flour
  • 1.5 C all-purpose flour
  • 2 C sugar
  • 2 t baking soda
  • 1 t salt
  • 1/3 C cocoa
  • 3/4 C unsweetened applesauce
  • 1 t vanilla
  • 2 T vinegar
  • 2 C water
  • ~20 Oreo cookies

Frosting:

  • 1.5 C powdered sugar
  • 3 T vegan butter (alternatively, butter)
  • 2 T soy milk, more as needed (alternatively, skim milk)
  • 1 t vanilla
  • 12 Oreo cookies

Directions:

Cake:

  • In a large bowl, mix together flours, sugar, baking soda, salt and cocoa.
  • Build a well in the middle and add in applesauce, vanilla, vinegar and water. Mix everything together.
  • Put cookies in a large plastic bag and break up with the backside of a knife until there are small or medium-sized chunks. Stir everything together.
  • Thoroughly grease muffin tins and spoon approximately 2-3 T batter into each cup (Should make 24 cupcakes). Bake in 350 degree oven for 20 minutes, or until firm to the touch.
  • Remove and allow to fully cool on a cooling rack.

Frosting:

  • Mix everything together in medium-sized bowl until fully combined and smooth.
  • Once cupcakes are cooled, heat the frosting slightly. Spoon approximately 1 t frosting onto the center of each cupcake and allow it to drizzle down.
  • Carefully chop the 12 Oreo cookies in half and garnish the top of each cupcake with half of a cookie.

As much as I love eating cupcakes, they weren’t the main focus of the night…

______________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________

The best part of the night was simply having a good time with some great friends.

Happy early birthday to me, indeed.

Questions: What are some of your birthday traditions?

I’ve always been more of a cookie-person than cake person, so when I was growing up I always asked for cookie cakes. Now, I just get the best of both worlds with cookies and cream cupcakes!

 

2 responses to “It’s my party and I’ll bake if I want to

Leave a Reply

