Slowing down to speed up

The calendar must have it wrong, because today surely wasn’t “November.”

When I woke up, the sun was shining and temperatures were already well into the 60s.

Did I mention this is Kansas? That’s just unheard of!

Not as though I’m complaining.

Plus, my excitement about the morning was only added to by the delicious breakfast I had waiting for me.

You know that saying “easy as pie?” Well, this is even easier…

Apple Pie Overnight Oats

Ingredients:

  • 1 container non-fat vanilla yogurt
  • 1/4 C oats
  • cinnamon
  • vanilla
  • 1 apple
  • 1 T peanut butter

Directions:

Night before:

  • Wash and dice the apple. Place in microwave-safe bowl and mix with sprinkle of cinnamon and dash of vanilla. Microwave for about 2 minutes, or until apple is at desired tenderness. Allow to cool slightly.
  • In another bowl, mix yogurt and oats. Stir in cooled apples. Cover and refrigerate overnight.

Morning:

  • Remove oats from refrigerator, stir in peanut butter and sprinkle with a bit more cinnamon.

The rest of the day was pretty standard for a Monday, but I actually got a break that night. Because I had traded editing shifts with a friend on Sunday night, I had Monday evening all to myself. Or, rather, to spend with Dan.

It also gave me the chance to cook a real, sit-down dinner, which I was eager to take advantage of.

Roasted Butternut Squash and Chickpeas

Ingredients:

  • 1 butternut squash
  • 1 can of chickpeas (may be labeled “Garbanzo Beans”)
  • 1 T buttery spread
  • 1 T honey mustard (alternatively, Dijon mustard)
  • ~1 T olive oil
  • Salt and pepper
  • Mustard seeds (optional)

Directions:

  • Wash and chop butternut squash into 1/2 in. thick pieces.
  • Drain and rinse chickpeas. Combine with butternut squash in a large bowl.
  • In small saucepan, warm butter until it just begins to bubble and brown. Pour over squash and chickpeas in bowl.
  • Add in honey mustard, olive oil and mustard seeds. Season with salt and pepper, to taste.
  • Evenly spread on a lined baking sheet and roast in 500 degree oven for 30 minutes, stirring every 10 minutes.

*I served this alongside some whole-grain toast and sautéed collard greens.

It was really nice to have the chance to sit back and relax in the comfort of my own home on a Monday night.

This upcoming weekend is going to be a lot of fun, but it will also keeping me constantly moving, so I’m trying to get ahead on work while I can. So… Back to it!

Questions: Do you do anything different when there is more time to spend on preparing a meal?

 

7 responses to “Slowing down to speed up

Leave a Reply

