Storm before the calm

I used to start the countdown to my birthday on November 15 of every year.

Did I mention that my birthday is November 14? Yeah, that left time for a lot of build up and anticipation.

Within the past few years, though, I began to care less about the new number I got to associate with my name (i.e. Hello, my name is Mimi and I’m 20 years old…”) and care more about the fact that I get to spend time with family.

And, truth be told, that is mostly a matter of convenience: The Kansas v. Nebraska football game is always within a week of my birthday. Therefore, either I go home or my family comes to me.

This weekend, it will be the latter.

That is good news, because I’ve only been home for approximately one day within the past five months. That is also bad news, because I have a lot of schoolwork to deal with and little time to do it.

Therefore, I’m in super-efficiency mode this weekend, from everything to my phone calls to my breakfasts… Hello, toaster waffles.

Consumed: Two whole-wheat waffles, topped with smear of PB, a sliced banana and SF maple syrup.

Usually, I prefer walking to classes, especially when the weather is as nice as it was. But, I had to suck it up and take the bus so that I could fit in some simultaneous class reading.

After said class, I high-tailed it straight for the library to study.

Revision: I high-tailed it straight to the library for some caffeine…

And then studying.

A while later, I took a pulled out some lunch, although it would be inaccurate to call it a “lunch break.”

Consumed: Big, delicious apple, non-fat Greek yogurt, Clif Bar.

I almost couldn’t believe it myself, but this was honestly my first time trying a Clif Bar. I don’t know why I was so skeptical, other than the mixed reviews I’ve heard. But, I was actually fan and look forward to trying some other varieties.

Then, since I seem to have some magnetic attraction to the newsroom, I swung by for some quick business before heading to my afternoon class.

I’m glad to say that I did soak up some of the fabulous weather during my walk home. But, once there, I got straight back to business on a freelance assignment I’m working on.

Usually, I get to see Dan pretty much right after my class on Tuesday afternoons. But, on Monday he warned me that he was working on a group project and there was no guarantee as to how long it would last. I was a little disappointed that I might not get to spend as much time with him, but also understood the importance for flexibility with group projects.

So, it was definitely to my delight when he texted me shortly after I got home to say that he was all done and wanted to swing by. That was definitely reason enough for me to put my work on hold, so I told him to get on over.

Strange Sign #1: When Dan got over, he was wearing a fleece coat, even though it was about 70 degrees outside.

Strange Sign #2: He said, “I’ve got to admit something to you…”

Strange Sign #3: He continued, “I didn’t actually have a group project…”

Happy Sign #2390 (when it comes to Dan): “Instead I was out buying you a gift. Happy early birthday.”

Apparently he does listen to me, because it was a topaz necklace, which is my favorite gem (and is also my birthstone).

Boy done good…

I don’t think I stopped smiling for about an hour (at which point I had to go back to work).

A little while later, we decided to enjoy the weather by laying out a blanket, resting in the sun and chatting about life, which I think is very, very good to me.

Unfortunately, as mentioned, I had to head back to work for another night of copy editing. That also meant I had to come up with an impromptu dinner with a skimpily stocked fridge.

Tip: A so-so salad is almost always enough for a great wrap. Bring a tortilla along and load it up with a tossed salad.

Consumed: Two small, whole-wheat tortillas filled with greens, carrots, sunflower seeds a bit of cheese and light dressing.

I also brought along an uncooked sweet potato (to bake in the newsroom’s microwave) and some extra snacky goods (read: chocolate and pretzels) to keep me occupied.

All in all, I call the day a success. There was a good mix of schoolwork, schoolwork and time with Dan. Now, I just have to keep up a few more days of this and I’ll be good for Nebraska!

Questions: What do you look forward to most about your birthday? Do you have a favorite gem?

7 responses to “Storm before the calm

Leave a Reply

