Coffee back up plan

I am a college student, therefore I am in a constant state of tiredness.

I am a college student, therefore I am also very frugal with my money.

In an effort to combat my tiredness, I’ve become a fan of coffee. However, I’ve never become a fan about shelling out a good $3 per latte.

Still, I had some kind of stigma against homemade coffee drinks. On one hand, I didn’t want to feed into my “addiction” (of a cup a day) by buying a coffee machine. On the other hand, I told myself that nothing could compare with the coffee house’s drinks.

This began to change last summer when I was first introduced to the concept of instant coffee.

While in Germany, my friend Rebecca and I woke up to workout at 6:30 every weekday. Suffice it to say that I definitely needed some caffeine to get me through school. But, because my breakfast was provided by my busy host-mother, everything needed to be pretty simple.

Therefore, I started drinking instant coffee and was actually amazed by how decent it was. I even remember thinking, “Do we have this in America? Why did I never notice it?”

Upon getting back to the States, I was pleased to see that the stores do stock the varieties of instant coffee that I had become familiar with in Germany. What’s more, these stores also had the kinds of milk and sweetener that I like.

Would it — could it — be as good as the coffee shop?

I’ve since come to realize the answer is no… It’s even better. Not only do I get some good, customized coffee drinks, but I save more than $50 a month.

Pumpkin Pie Latte

Ingredients:

  • Spoonful of instant coffee
  • 1/2 C water
  • 1 t pumpkin pie sugar-free syrup
  • 1/2 C almond milk

Directions:

  • In a large mug, microwave water for about one minute. Then add in a spoonful of instant coffee, being sure to keep it “strong.”
  • Pour milk in an extra small saucepan and heat on medium-high, constantly stirring.
  • When milk begins to simmer, remove from heat. Be careful that is doesn’t scald!
  • Add steamed milk with pumpkin pie syrup with the strong coffee. Mix and enjoy!

As if I need to do anymore convincing, here’s how the price breaks down…

I am a college student, therefore it’s good to have a back-up plan as a barista if the whole “education” thing doesn’t work out.

Questions: Do you make coffee at home? Do you stick to the standard “milk and sugar” combination or do you mix it up?

Friday Fragments:

As one of my guilty pleasures, when I have some time and it happens to be on TV, I like to watch “Real Housewives of ________.”

In doing so, I totally accept that it will be outlandish, ridiculous and often offensive.

However, I don’t think that is an excuse for total social irresponsibility. That’s why, when I caught a recent episode of the “Beverly Hills” variety, I was a little ruffled when one of the housewives made a comment something along the lines of, “Size two/four is huge in Beverly Hills.”

Although that may be true, it does not need to be repeatedly perpetuated, especially by an unnecessary comment (this wasn’t at all important to “the plot.”)

Granted, this comment won’t make the world fall apart, but it certainly isn’t contributing to it, either.

7 responses to “Coffee back up plan

  • Lucy Glover

    Jessica Simpson was in the news for being overweight in her mom jeans. She looked fine to the real world. Later, while she was pitching an ad on Oprah for her new TV show (can’t remember the name, something about beauty around the world) she said that she was a size 4 jeans in the picture when the media called her fat. There was such an uproar that she lied about being a size 4 that she had to recant and say that was her European size. Pleeaassseee, she lives in the USA, her USA size was an 8 which is a great size in anybody’s book. Her show new TV show was about beauty being more than skin deep yet she lies about her jean size. Talk about perpetuating the false image. At least Tony Romo had enough sense to dump her!! Well, I will get down off my soap box and wish you a great day and a safe trip back home. Love you.

  • Jess

    I love watching that show, too – it’s my guilty pleasure:) But it is appalling one of the housewives said that/they didn’t edit it out…how many young girls are watching that that are more impressionable than us? I’m a size 8, what am I humongo? haha

  • christina

    i’m too frugal for $3 lattes too, so i hit up my aunt’s house before work and grab a cup! hehe

  • Natalie

    Mmmm, that looks good!

  • Megan

    I must try this! Every so often I need a coffee fix 🙂

  • Breakfasts «

    […] Pumpkin Spice Latte […]

  • Bloggers: When to keep it to yourself «

    […] blog, which means I probably contradict myself sometimes. Case and point: I still have recipes with Splenda-infused ingredients, yet I steer away from artificial sweeteners […]

Leave a Reply

