Wake up, world

The world just wasn’t up early enough for me this morning.

I had a dozen things on my immediate to-do list and a dozen more simmering in the back of my mind, so I just had to get up and get moving.

I woke up a little bit after 6 o’clock to get some work done around the house and then head to campus. Unfortunately, I failed to remember that “my” library doesn’t open until 8 a.m.

I decided to go with “plan B” by going to the journalism resource center… But that also didn’t open until 8 o’clock!

By that time it was actually nearing 8 o’clock, so I decided to make the most of it and head back to the library that I am most comfortable (and productive) in.

Whew.

By the time that I was settled down, I was more than eager to dive into my breakfast.

The food:

Consumed: Non-fat Greek honey-vanilla yogurt with ~1/4 C oats, some lightly sweetened shredded wheat cereal and frozen blueberries, all mixed and refrigerated overnight. Topped in morning with 1 T peanut butter.

The context:

After fueling up, I got down to business and spent a few hours working on some papers that have been looming over my head.

Confession: I missed class to do this. But, the amount of productivity that I was able to achieve definitely was worth missing a couple of classes.

I stayed in the library all the way up until lunchtime, when I was ready for a change of scenery.

The food:

Consumed: Mashed butternut squash with honey mustard and a white-chocolate macadamia nut Luna bar.

The context:

It wouldn’t be a full school day without swinging by the newsroom, right?

I’m glad to say that I did go to my afternoon class, which took away a little bit of my guilt.

The whole time, though, I was just burning to get back home, because I had something exciting planned: A run with NEW shoes!

Out with the old…

_____________________________________________________________

 

 

 

 

_______________________________________________________________

In with the new…

_______________________________________________________________

 

 

 

 

_______________________________________________________________

Now compare and contrast!Unfortunately, I had to make my new shoes significantly less cool by putting on my ankle braces.

They may not have been too fashionable, but I wasn’t going to let that faux pas to bring me down. My photos may be considered evidence of my enthusiasm…

Adding to my excitement was the fantastic weather. Sunny and cool = perfect for running!

Unfortunately, I was still on a tight schedule, so my run was just a brisk three-mile loop. No complaints, though.

I wasn’t too sad about keeping the run on the shorter side, because after showering I got to go pick up Dan from his classes. Seeing him is the surest way to me a happy girl.

Keeping on schedule, I made him go by the grocery store with me. My fridge was bare enough to fit in on a nude beach…

By the time all that was done, so too was the afternoon. Time for editing, which included a brown bagged dinner.

The food:

Consumed: Romaine lettuce, shredded carrots, edamame, cherry tomatoes, feta and hummus (as the dressing).

The context:


I managed to get a great deal checked off my to-do list. But, the day also gave me a few new goals for tomorrow. Topping that list is: Eat dinner at an actual table!

Questions: How often do you get new running shoes? Are you brand loyal?

I had my old shoes for longer than recommended, but shopping for a new pair always fell to the back of my priority list. Both pairs are Asics, but I tend to fluctuate among a few different brands.

P.S. Happy 20th, Sam!

 

5 responses to “Wake up, world

  • movesnmunchies

    I’m a fan of Asics- they make the best running shoes and are super comfy too! I usually get a new pair every….. 5 years…. ahah.. oh well, if it aint broke, dont fix it!

  • Katelyn Johnson

    I try to get new ones every 300 to 400 miles as recommended but I haven’t been keeping good track lately, or running much for that matter. But I’m going to get a new pair after I retire one in the most dignified way possible. . .caked in mud from LHF! I wish you were running it with us 😦 I am also 100% loyal to Mizuno, Wave Rider to be exact.
    Also Happy Birthday to Sam!

  • Alina @ Duty Free Foodie

    I have a pair of Asics and a pair of Nike Frees. I am not a very serious runner, so I switch them up when it feels right (i.e. not very often). But apparently the injury rates are not any lower with new shoes, so I have that to comfort me.

  • Sam

    I had to come back and read this entry. Thanks for the birthday wishes! I am brand loyal to Mizuno and I usually go 300-400 miles…when I actually kept track of mileage.

Leave a Reply

