Holy hot buns!

When I was growing up, I was absolutely petrified with flying in airplanes.

This was only made worse by the fact that my family was split among the corners of the country, so flying was pretty much inevitable.

To cope with my fear, I came up with comforting superstitions that I hoped would protect me. But, even these weren’t able to distract me from my instinctive anxiety.

My mom, who probably feared a whiny child more than flying on the plane, realized she had to develop a strategy to help me get over my fears. And develop a strategy she did…

Rather than allow me to dwell in uneasiness, my mom gave me an offer I couldn’t refuse: A warm, gooey, delicious Cinnabon cinnamon roll! Then, instead of fearing flying, I actually looked forward to going to the airport, i.e. getting a cinnamon roll!

So, then, you can only imagine my devastation when I learned that Cinnabon rolls are pretty much the opposite of healthfulness.

Although I’ve mostly gotten over my fear of flying (I still count to 90 while looking out the window whenever the plane takes off), I haven’t gotten over my love of cinnamon rolls.

To compromise this with my desire to eat healthfully, I’ve searched for an easy, tasty and nutritionally improved roll. And, as of yesterday, it seems that I’ve found it…

Cinnamon Chip Rolls


(Adapted from “(Never Home) Maker”)

Ingredients:

1 C whole-wheat flour
1 T light brown sugar + 1/2 C brown sugar
2 t baking powder
A pinch of Kosher salt
2 T buttery spread, cold + 2 T more
1/3 C almond milk (alternatively, skim milk)
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/4 C cinnamon chips

Directions:

In the bowl of an electric mixer, whisk together the whole-wheat flour, 1 T brown sugar, baking powder, cinnamon and salt.
Cut in the butter and mix with your fingers until crumbly.
Pour in the almond milk. Mix until well combined. You may need a tablespoon or so more of the almond milk to get a nice, soft dough. But it shouldn’t be sticky.
In another bowl, crush cinnamon chips with a fork (or shave a bit with a knife). You want it to be crumbly. Almost powdery. (Note: I’ve had good luck at finding cinnamon chips at stores near the chocolate chips, but they may only be offered seasonally in some places.)

Mix crushed cinnamon chips together with the 2 tablespoons butter, 1/2 cup brown sugar until all is crumbly.
Roll out the buns dough on a lightly floured work surface. You should create a skinny rectangle that’s about 5 x 18 inches. Then cover it with your crumbly sugar mixture.
Roll it so that you get a long, skinny roll. Wrap and then refrigerate for 20 minutes. Then use a knife to slice the tube into ~ 24 tiny rolls.
Place each tiny roll into a greased slot on a mini-muffin tin.
Bake for 15 to 20 minutes, until cinnamon buns are golden brown. Let cool for five minutes, then remove and finish cooling on cooling rack.

I was kind of in love with the flavor, the indulgence, the mini-portions, the fact that I didn’t have to go to the airport to get them…

Questions: How old were you when you first flew on an airplane? Were you/are you afraid of flying?

I flew on a plane from Michigan to Kansas City when I was six weeks old. But, I don’t think that I got a Cinnabon that time.

Friday Fragments:

I took some “me” time at the gym today by flipping through the November issue of Health Magazine while on the elliptical. Even though I am a journalist and would love to continue writing articles, I am still a critic of some of the over-blown things I often read in similar magazines. So, suffice it to say that I approached what I read with a grain of salt…

Still, I couldn’t help but roll my eyes when Health almost directly contradicted itself in two stories.

The first story was a column from a woman who has worked to overcome her “food guilt.” She wrote:
“I was trying to be ‘good’ at lunch to balance out how ‘bad’ I planned on being for dinner! But the more we talked about our food choices, the more I wondered: When did eating become such a moral judgment call?”
In this, and the rest of the article, the writer was basically talking about why women shouldn’t feel like eating is a constant battle between good and bad, right and wrong.

Good point.

BUT, then, in the next article, which was an interview with Hillary Duff, Duff said that she always balances her food.

Seriously, Health? Did none of the editors catch that this was a total contradiction?

How can women be confident in our choices, with our bodies and in our lives if we are constantly receiving conflicting information?

What do you think? Do you know of examples of conflicting health advice?

2 responses to “Holy hot buns!

Leave a Reply

