Indoor circuits

I have a short attention span.

This has become especially clear to me since running my half-marathon. While I was training, I had a goal to keep me motivated. But, now, I just can’t get myself to focus on long runs.

However, that certainly doesn’t mean that I’ve thrown the towel in on exercising. Instead, I get my exercise kicks with fun, fast and intense workouts, aka circuits.

I first learned the art of circuits during high school track, where my practices were filled with sprints, plyometrics and active recovery. Each day would leave me exhausted, slightly sore and pretty satisfied with myself.

Although I no longer have a coach prodding me along, I’m still able to do circuit workouts on my own. During the summer, I like to do these outside, using things such as park benches for excercise tools.

But, in addition to having a short attention span, I also have a low tolerance for cold. So, when the temperatures start dropping, I begin to do the majority of my workouts inside. My university’s recreation center is great for these, because there is a quarter-mile track and a lot of weights to use.

On other days, though, I don’t feel like going all the way across campus to workout. Fortunately, my apartment gym has a treadmill, which is really all I need.

Quick Treadmill Circuit

  • Warm-up with 1 mile jog
  • Stretch for ~5 minutes (This is especially important during the winter, when muscles tighten up more easily.)
  • Run .25 mile at a speed of 7.5 on the treadmill
  • Strength for ~5 minutes (i.e., push-ups, sit-ups, wall sits, weights)
  • Repeat run and strength 3 more times.
  • Cool down with a 1 mile jog
  • Stretch again

I like this workout because it is flexible and easy to change up. For example, some days, I focus on arm strength. Other days, I do more leg strength. It just depends on my mood…

Question: How do your workouts vary in the summer and winter?

 

2 responses to “Indoor circuits

Leave a Reply

