Pumpkin Pie Pudding

I legitimately had dessert for breakfast.

But unlike sugar-loaded pie/cake/cookies that leave me crashing 20 minutes later, this still fit my criteria for healthfulness.

First, though, here’s a little bit of the backstory: I’m just not a fan of pumpkin pie. Something about the texture always threw me off and made me opt for apple pie at Thanksgiving meals. And, I was fine with that…

But, Dan was not. He love pumpkin pie. I love him.

So, in a never-ending effort to bake things he like, I decided to try out some pumpkin pie-inspired dishes, done my way.

Pumpkin Pie Pudding

(Adapted from “Cooking Light”)

Ingredients:

  • 6 T sugar
  • 2 T cornstarch
  • 1 3/4 C unsweetened vanilla almond milk (alternatively, skim or low-fat milk)
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/2 C canned unsweetened pumpkin
  • 1 t vanilla
  • 1/2 t cinnamon
  • 1/8 t salt
  • 1/8 t nutmeg

Directions:

  • Combine sugar and cornstarch in a medium saucepan. In another bowl, whisk together milk and egg.
  • Turn heat under saucepan to medium. Slowly add milk mixture to sugar mixture, constantly whisking until it comes to a boil. Continue cooking and whisking for 1 minute. Remove from heat.
  • In another bowl, combine pumpkin, vanilla, cinnamon, salt and nutmeg. Stir well and then slowly add to milk mixture, whisking constantly. Place over low heat and cook for 3 minutes, stirring constantly until heated (don’t bring to boil).
  • Pour into bowl, cover with plastic wrap so that the wrap sits directly on top of pudding. Chill in refrigerator until fully set.

Somehow, this pudding was enough for me to overcome my dislike of pumpkin pie. But, at breakfast time, I found way to make it even better…

Pumpkin Pie Pudding Oatmeal

Ingredients:

  • 1/3 C oats
  • ~2/3 C water
  • 1/2 C pumpkin pie pudding
  • Dark chocolate chips or cinnamon chips

Directions:

  • Combine oats and water. Cover with paper towel and cook in microwave for 1 minute and 30 second. Allow to cool slightly.
  • Top with pudding and garnish with chocolate/cinnamon chips.

If only real pumpkin pie tasted like this, then I’d eat it everyday. On second thought, maybe it’s a good thing that real pumpkin pie doesn’t taste this good!

Questions: What’s your favorite Thanksgiving dessert?

8 responses to “Pumpkin Pie Pudding

Leave a Reply

