Trailblazing

Of course it’s going to be a good day when it all starts off like this…

Consumed: 1/3 C oats cooked with 2/3 C water. Then, cooked oats were stirred with 1/4 C pumpkin and drizzle of maple syrup. Sprinkled with mini chocolate shredded wheats.

The “goodness” of my day came to a temporary stall after that, when I got my morning classes out-of-the-way. Thankfully, when the whistle blew, it wasn’t just signaling the end of my morning classes… It was signaling the beginning of my Thanksgiving break!

Yipee!

Well, almost… I first had to go by the newsroom to finish some things up.

Then it was really break. So, I celebrated by going over to Dan’s to eat lunch. I already packed my meal, but it still gave us the chance to spend time together.

Consumed: Romaine lettuce, corn, black beans, caramelized onions, sautéed mushrooms, a bit of cheese and hummus. Plus, a chocolate chip “Z Bar” on the side.

Afterward, I used my serious skills to give Dan a haircut, which means that I do get to take some credit in how good-looking he is. (;

A little while later, we were planning on going to the recreation center for a workout. But, when we stepped outside, we realized that the sun had come out and the temperatures heated back up. So, why run in quarter-mile loops when we could enjoy nature?

We headed toward the edge of town, parked the car near a trail and laced up…

Rather, Dan laced up while I took pictures…

Then we hit the trails!

A few minutes into the run, I made a comment about how much I like running on trails. Dan then informed me that not only had I told him that before, but I had told him that “like 20 times before.”

Whoops. Guess I am just really passionate about trail running.

I little while farther down the trail and I could tell that Dan was starting to see my point, even though he wasn’t letting on…

No smile? That’s more like it.

The trail looped back around just a little before two miles, which (for non-math majors) added up to probably near 3.5 miles. In this case, though, it wasn’t the miles logged but the satisfaction earned.

(Hey, Dan, did I mention that I like trail runs?)

Dan still had some pre-Thanksgiving work to finish up, so headed back to his place to crack down on that. Meanwhile, I caught up on a bit of Oprah and lounge-time.

Before I knew it, it was almost time for me to go to editing and I still had a quick dinner to throw together. Just because it was quick, though, doesn’t mean it was tasteless. In fact, it was one of the best sandwiches ever. Just saying…

Apple and Brie Panini

Ingredients:

  • 2 slices whole-grain bread
  • Half of thinly sliced apple
  • 1/2 oz. brie cheese
  • Apple butter

Directions:

  • Toast both slices of bread. Smear apple butter on one slice of toast and then cover with apple slices. Cover other slice of toast with brie and then make a sandwich with both slices.
  • Heat a nonstick indoor grill pan to medium-high heat. Place sandwich in the middle of skillet and firmly press down with spatula for 3-5 minutes or until browned. Flip and repeat.

And, in those simple steps, the “blah” old toast is transformed into a good sandwich. But, it doesn’t stop there, because that sandwich is then transformed into a fantastic Panini!

It was so good that it almost made me forget I was back in the newsroom spending my night editing… I can’t complain too much, though, because as of Tuesday afternoon I will be on my way down to TEXAS!

Questions: Do you have any experience with trail running? What’s your favorite type of cheese?

I really want to do a trail race, but I plan on keeping it a little shorter than my best friend Katelyn’s killer of a trail marathon. For practical purposes, I like feta cheese, but brie is my favorite “special occasion” cheese.

 

3 responses to “Trailblazing

Leave a Reply

