A Dallas Thanksgiving

So, I went to Texas.

Dan did, too…

But first he checked the air pressure in my tires…

Which is #456 why I keep him around.

The drive down was long, mostly because I was so excited about my whole family, foods and WHOLE FOODS.

That was definitely a required destination on my first whole day in town. So was the Dallas Pecan Company…And la Madeline…

The rest of the day, though, was devoted to spending time with my family.

Thanksgiving morning began with a 5K jaunt with Dan, my mom, my mom’s twin…

And 40,000 other runners…

(And that’s just the first third of ’em!)

Although the race was technically a 5K, I’m convinced we ran nearly four miles with the additional swerving we had to do around walkers, dogs and slow pokes.

All in all, it was absolutely a fun run. There was no point in going for a personal record, but it was just a great start to an otherwise indulgent day.

After the race, we had to head straight back to my grandparent’s house to get ready for the big ol’ family gathering. But, first I insisted that my uncle drive Dan past the Triple Underpass, aka “Where JFK was assassinated.”

Fun fact: My mom was at the motorcade when JFK was assassinated… But that is definitely a story for another day.

Fortunately, we made it through that area fairing a little bit better than the nation’s 35th president. Once back at my grandparents, there was a rush to get everyone through showers, cleaned up and looking good in time for even more family to come over.

Somehow, though, I managed to do it with time to spare…

No big deal.

But, before we knew it, people were showing up. And they were showing up hungry.

Thankfully, there was enough food to go around, even for a vegetarian…

However, even meat-eater’s raved about my contribution of…

Mustard Roasted Butternut Squash

Ingredients:

  • 1 butternut squash, scrubbed and chopped into ~1 x 1 in. cubes
  • 1 large firm pear, scrubbed and chopped into ~1 x 1 in. cubes
  • 1 C dried cranberries
  • 1 T butter
  • 1 T olive oil
  • 1 T Dijon mustard
  • Salt and pepper, to taste

Directions:

  • In a large bowl, mix together squash, pear and cranberries.
  • In a small skillet on medium-high heat, bring the butter to a simmer, stirring constantly and then remove from heat. It should have a nice brown color to it.
  • Mix browned butter with olive oil and mustard.
  • Pour butter mixture over the squash mixture. Toss it all together, so that squash is evenly covered. Pour everything into a roasting pan. Season with salt and pepper.
  • Roast for 40-60 minutes in 400 degree oven, stirring occasionally.

However, although the food is always a highlight of Thanksgiving, the real point was getting to spend time with family…

Boyfriend…

And a few other of my favorite things.

According to my sister, Dan also go to spend time with his “favorite things.”

Which included her, pumpkin pie and The Sound of Music.

More to share and I want to give it all its fair due, so stay tuned for another Dallas rewind.

Until then…

Questions: How was your Thanksgiving? What did you do? Any new/nontraditional foods?

 

7 responses to “A Dallas Thanksgiving

Leave a Reply

