Blue, who?

I woke up this morning feeling blue, which was coincidentally reflected in my breakfast…

Consumed: 1 blueberry yogurt, 1/4 C oats, 1/2 t chia seeds and frozen blueberries. Refrigerated overnight. Topped in the morning with a scoop of sunflower seed butter.

I don’t know what my mood was all about, but I was just inexplicably down in the dumps. I wasn’t mad about anything specific. I wasn’t sad about anything specific… I was just blue.

Sigh.

The thing is that I shouldn’t be too surprised. The semester is ending in just two weeks, and although I am excited about a break from school, I am stressed about everything I have to do before that point. That stress paired with my typical wintertime “downness” just makes for a bad combination.

Sigh.

Although I wanted to stay in bed and relax, I figured the best way to overcome my mood was just to go out and face the world. So face the world I did through a couple of classes and some quality time at the library, which I also made my lunchroom.

Consumed: Carrot Cake Clif Bar, an apple and a square of dark chocolate.

The food itself was good: The apple was crisp and juicy. The carrot cake flavor of the bar was spot-on. (Thanks, Katelyn!) And the chocolate was, well, chocolate-y.

I even “treated myself” to some Arnold Palmer-style Honest Tea.

Love that stuff.

I intentionally kept the meal on the smaller side, because my mind was already wandering to something else.

But, first, I had a wonderful date with the elliptical machine. Although running is my true love, when done right, I love the way the elliptical machine stretches my legs off. Plus, my feet needed a break almost as much as my mind does.

Sigh.

Admittedly, my mood had improved throughout the day, but I still craved an extra pick-me-up. And, to me, that could only mean one thing.

Fluffy Banana Chocolate Chip Cookies

(Adapted from “Weekly Bite.”)

Ingredients:

  • 1 ripe banana, mashed
  • 1/4 C buttery spread, softened
  • 1/8 C sugar
  • 1/8 C brown sugar
  • 1/2 t vanilla
  • 1 C whole-wheat flour
  • 1/4 C flax meal
  • 1/2 t salt
  • 1/2 t baking soda
  • 1/2 C dark chocolate chip cookies

Directions:

  • In a medium bowl, cream the banana and butter together. Add the sugars and vanilla. Mix everything together.
  • In a smaller bowl, mix the flour, flax, salt and baking soda. Add the flour mixture to the banana mixture in three separate sections (stirring after each addition). Add in the dark chocolate chip cookies.
  • Spoon approximately tablespoon-sized dough balls onto a lightly greased cookie sheet. Bake in a 350 degree oven for 15 minutes.

With the cookies, I was finally able to go from “sigh” to “yum.”

See what I mean?

I was also able to go from “sigh” to “ohm…”

Because, even in the middle of a busy, blue day, peace can always be found.

Especially if there are cookies involved.

Friday Fragments: I’ve been seeing a lot of advertisements lately for “Black Swan,” a new thriller. The film features Natalie Portman and Mila Kunis as competing ballerinas, which is a profession notorious for strict physical standards.

In fact, to “fit” the role, Kunis lost 20 pounds off of her already thin frame.

While filming (left) vs. Now

Although I don’t condone the standards that made this weight loss necessary, I do think that Kunis took a good, realistic mental approach to it all.

In a recent interview, she said:

“My mom freaked out. Everybody started panicking. She was like, ‘You have to promise me this isn’t going to affect you.’ I was like, ‘I promise it won’t, but it might take me a little time to be OK with having a little more fat on me.'”

I think this was “good,” because she recognized the fears that her family had for her. I think this was “realistic,” because she knew that putting weight back on would be more than a physical task.

This was a lesson that I learned last year, when I was struggling to get back to heath: Eventually I realized that I wasn’t healthy, but I still struggled with mental hurdles that kept me from getting the nutrition I needed.

What do you think about Kunis’ weight loss and subsequent weight gain?

 

10 responses to “Blue, who?

  • Katie

    This is interesting. I can’t imagine how hard it would be to lose weight for a movie role. I feel like these actors and actresses would have to have some sort of body dysmorphia when it was all over. I also don’t think that the article would be very helpful for insecure teens to read. Kunis did gain the weight back, but she also lost it..for a movie role. I just don’t think it’s healthy to do such things. I know the movie would not be as realistic if the characters weren’t so stick skinny (esp. for a ballet movie), but I still believe it’s a shame that the filming industry supports and pushes this. What is something would have happened to her while losing all of this weight, like a medical emergency? Would the industry be blamed? Would things change? It’s a tough situation because people may think it’s all Kunis’ fault – she agreed to lose the weight. She was the one losing the weight, doing it to herself. However, in my opinion the film industry is to blame too, if not more than the actresses and actors who go through this. Put it this way: these people act for their jobs. So, if the directors and casting crew are limiting jobs to people of certain color, gender, sexual orientation, weight, age, etc…then, these actors are bound to do almost anything to get the job, including dropping 20 pounds in 5 months. It’s a crazy world that we live in.

  • christina

    mmm i love your banana cookies! i can’t believe mila got so thin! it looks painful!

  • Katelyn Johnson

    I’m glad youliked the cliff bar! Also I am very jealous that you can still take a picture in a t shirt! I read this on my phone while I walked from my car to class (in my winter coat) andmy hands are numb!

  • Meghan

    Those cookies look delicious….I might have to make those for finals week to keep me sane! I can really relate with you about winter blues…I am so much more energized in the sunnier months but it is important and fun to find ways to lift your mood during the colder ones! Good luck with the end of your semester!

  • Jess

    I kind of think it’s ridiculous that they make skinny actresses lose even more weight. I understand it’s part of the job, but I don’t know..it just doesn’t seem right.

    I can relate to your blues- I can’t wait for the semester to be over!

  • Lo

    I know how those blue days are… and waking up that way is the worst! however, you can feel better knowing that you can STILL WEAR A T-SHIRT OUTSIDE!! That’s crazy!! Up here in Winnipeg, Manitoba we are having a ‘mild’ November of -25 (celcius).

  • Natalie

    I’m glad I’m not a Hollywood actress, that’s for sure. I think it would be extremely hard, mentally, to change weight for different roles.

    Sorry you were blue today, being overwhelmed always makes me get the blahs.

  • If life gives you lemons… «

    […] Consumed: 1/3 C oats cooked in water and mixed with spoonful of dark chocolate almond butter (!!). Topped with 1/2 frozen banana and small banana chocolate chip cookie. […]

Leave a Reply

