If life gives you lemons…

I’m glad to say that I was feeling much less blue today.

Maybe it had to do with the fact it was Friday.

Maybe it had to do with the fact I had “dessert” for breakfast.

Consumed: 1/3 C oats cooked in water and mixed with spoonful of dark chocolate almond butter (!!). Topped with 1/2 frozen banana and small banana chocolate chip cookie.

Maybe it had to do with the fact that I had a great run, weight and stationary bike workout at the recreation center.

Maybe it had to do with the fact that I went out to lunch with my friend Mandy at Jason’s Deli.

Maybe it had to do with the fact that I loaded my bowl at the salad bar with almost every vegetable possible (plus a little hummus and feta!).

Maybe it had to do with the fact that I discovered the world’s biggest sweet potatoes at the store. Seriously.

_______________________________________________________________

_______________________________________________________________

Maybe it had to do with the fact that I got to make a filling, fantastic and lemony (which is pretty much synonymous with “delicious” to me) dinner.

Lemony Vegetable Linguine

Ingredients:

My ingredients are rough measurements, because this can be adapted for however many servings you want…

  • Whole-wheat linguine
  • Cherry tomatoes, cut in half
  • Half of a yellow onion, diced
  • Capers (about 1 T)
  • Garlic (I used 2 cloves)
  • Lemon, zested
  • Olive oil
  • Basil
  • Salt and pepper
  • Freshly shredded parmesan cheese

Directions:

  • Cook the pasta al dente according to directions.
  • Meanwhile, saute the onions with a bit of olive oil in a large skillet until the onions begin to turn translucent. Add the tomatoes and garlic. Continue cooking on medium-low heat, stirring often.
  • Zest the lemon, setting zest aside. Chop lemon in half and squeeze juice of one half in with the onions and tomatoes.
  • When the pasta is done, drain it, reserving a little pasta water.
  • Add the pasta into the skillet and toss everything together. Add capers and lemon zest. Add more olive oil and lemon juice, to taste. Add salt, pepper and basil to taste.
  • Plate and serve!

Maybe it had to do with the fact that this dish was easily customizable to fit Dan’s non-vegetarian diet, thanks to the addition of some “steam in the bag” shrimp.

Maybe it had to do with the fact that this made Dan very, very happy (therefore, making me very, very happy).

Maybe it had to do with the fact that I still saved a little bit of room for some salty ‘n’ sweet peanut butter chocolate chip cookies.

Or, maybe it was all of the above.

Questions: What are your plans for the weekend? Do you crave salt or swoon over sweets?

My weekend will go like: study, get sick of studying and repeat. Typically, I love sweets. However, when I want a salt fix, I usually opt for pretzels or popcorn!

 

 


12 responses to “If life gives you lemons…

Leave a Reply

