Goodnight, long-shift editing!

I try to be a good person…

I hold open doors. I say “please” and “thank you.”I smile at strangers — And not even in a creepy way!

But, in the day-to-day blur of things, I know that it’s easy to forget about the “little things.” That’s why, whenever I have the chance, I like to do a little something extra to make people happy. Because I have no talent for singing and am too poor to buy gifts, my options are fairly limited — Not like that’s a bad thing, though. It just means that I get to bake!

So, in honor of my very last long-shift of editing (which typically lasts from 5 p.m. until after midnight), I decided to whip up a treat.

(You know, because I didn’t have any studying to do or anything.)

Even though my primary intentions were to make my fellow copy editors happy, this also helped me take care of a craving of my own. Strangely enough, I woke up with brownies on the brain — And not just any brownies.

I wanted rich, gooey and fudgy brownies.

So, when I laid my eyes on the picture of Eggless Cooking’s “Almost Fat Free Brownies,” I was sold.

A little measuring, mixing, pouring and baking later, I had replicated the fudgy goodness in my own home.

 

Valiantly, I put the copy editors’ interests ahead of my own, and packed the brownies up.

Once there, though, I didn’t have to wait too long until the other editors dug in and I was able to snag my own taste test.

Because dessert was already taken care of, I figured I might as well have my dinner, which was still-delicious leftovers from the night before.

Consumed: Hearty Vegetable Medley atop some lettuce.

Although I didn’t mention it in yesterday’s post, my dinner also included a tasty side dish creation…

Harvest Wild Rice

(pictured above)

Ingredients:

  • 1 box wild rice
  • 1/4 C dried cranberries
  • 1/4 C apple butter

Directions:

  • Cook the wild rice according to directions (including the spices).
  • After removing from heat, stir in the cranberries and apple butter. Put lid back on rice and allow it all to steam for five minutes.

So simple, yet so delicious! Plus, I love the extra chew and texture that wild rice offers. I’ll definitely be making this as an easy side dish again in the future.

And, folks, that’s about all I have to say about that. Now, I could get back to studying…

Or I could get back to making some brownies. Do you think my professors would accept those as adequate bribes?

Questions: Do you like to bake for others? Do you have a standard “courtesy gift”?

8 responses to “Goodnight, long-shift editing!

Leave a Reply

