Fail Whale

I definitely go in and out of Twitter-mode. Some times I update every (insignificant) detail of my life. Other times, I go weeks without breaking news.

The thing is, for the most part, I just don’t get Twitter. I mean, isn’t a post a blog post per day enough (or too much) about me? Why would anyone care if I’m “eating an apple” or “walking home from class.”

But, then, I discovered something a little brilliant: the Twitter tag “#failwhale.” The basic concept is that every time something “blah” happens that would bore your normal friends to death, you can just explain it on Twitter with a #failwhale tag.

For example, I could say “I was excited to eat my apple… Until I realized it was mealy. #failwhale!” or “walked home from class, tripped and fell on my face. #failwhale.”

For that reason alone, today was a very active Twitter day for me…

My #failwhale onslaught began bright and early when I came downstairs to discover this:

That would be a brand new bag of frozen blueberries, left out all night on top of the freezer. Total, total #failwhale.

Fortunately, it wasn’t too much of an immediate problem, because I was already planning on some PB&J oats.

Consumed: 1/3 C oats cooked with water. Mixed with spoonful of sugar-free jelly and a spoonful of sunflower seed butter. Topped with thawed blueberries.

Warmed up with my nice bowl of oats, I bundled up and headed to class, which consisted of a broken projector and an hour of boredom. #failwhale

The subsequent hours were spent nestled in a remote corner of the library with way too many books for my own good. By noon, I could tell that the isolation was really getting to me, as my notes went from looking like this:

To this:

That’d be a #failwhale, folks.

That’d also be a definite sign it’s time for a lunch break.

Consumed: Homemade whole-wheat bread, carrots, Sabra spinach and artichoke hummus (!!), vanilla yogurt, thawed blueberries and a square of dark chocolate.

Sadly, the break didn’t last long, as I had to get back to the multiple papers I have due within the week. #failwhale

Fast forward a couple of hours, and my day took a turn for the better when I got to spend some time with Dan. Can I make that a #nonfailwhale?

Then, with Dan keeping me company, I made put my thawed blueberries to good great use…

Blueberry Buckle

Ingredients:

Cake:

  • 1 C + 1 T whole-wheat flour
  • 1 C + 1 T all-purpose flour
  • 2 t baking powder
  • 1/2 t salt
  • 1/4 C buttery spread, softened
  • 3/4 C sugar
  • 1 flax egg (or whole egg)
  • 1/2 C milk
  • 1 1/2 C frozen blueberries, thawed (I thawed mine overnight and then stored them in the fridge until I was ready to bake that afternoon)

Topping: (Depending on how much you want)

  • 1 part buttery spread
  • 3 parts sugar
  • 2 parts whole-wheat flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

Directions:

  • Sift together the flour, the baking powder and the salt. Set aside. Cream the buttery spread and sugar until fluffy, about 3 minutes. Beat in the flax egg.
  • Add the flour mixture in 3 parts, alternating with the milk. Toss the blueberries with the remaining 2 tablespoons of flour and fold in.
  • Pour batter into a greased 8×8 inch pan. Set aside.
  • Combine ingredients for topping with a fork to make crumbly mixture. Sprinkle this over the batter.
  • Bake in 375 degree oven for about 60 minutes, or until a wooden skewer comes out clean from the center.
  • Run a knife around the edge of the pan and then allow the cake to cool entirely.

Let me tell you, this was maybe the best way to turn my morning #failwhale to a total #nonfailwhale.

Look at that crusty, delicious top…

Check out that blueberry spotted cake…

There is just one phrase that could totally sum it up: #nonfailwhale

Questions: Do you use Twitter? Did you have any #failwhale or #nonfailwhale moments today?

P.S. Follow me and all my #failwhale and #nonfailwhale moments at Pursuit2Health!

14 responses to “Fail Whale

Leave a Reply

