Monochromatic

Orange has been my favorite color.

This has been the case for as long as I can remember. Or, in other words, this has been the case since 1996 when I filled out my “Book About Me.” At least that’s what I think “orenage” is supposed to mean…

Anyway, that’s why it wasn’t a bad thing when today’s meals were pretty monochromatic, based around the color orange.

It all began bright and early when I was suddenly inspired to make a new breakfast…

Carrot Cake Oats

Ingredients:

  • 1/3 C oats
  • 2/3 C water
  • Sprinkle of cinnamon
  • 1 large carrot, shredded
  • Maple syrup
  • Optional toppings (I actually used a few white chocolate chips, but pecans or walnuts would be great)

Directions:

  • Mix the oats, water and cinnamon. Cover with a napkin and microwave for 1:30 minutes.
  • Stir in shredded carrots and microwave for a few more seconds, if necessary.
  • Top with drizzle of maple syrup.

I was even surprised by how delicious this turned out to be. Plus, I felt good about getting a serving of vegetables in with my breakfast.

Of significance, because I knew it was going to be a long morning in the library, I also bulked my carrot cake oats up with a spoonful of sunflower seed butter. Good thing I did, too, because I was staked out in the library from the morning, all the way past lunch and until my afternoon class.

That’s why, in the midst of it all, I was extra excited to break for lunch.

Consumed: Leftover hearty vegetable medley, harvest wild rice, carrots, peaches and a square of dark chocolate.

Basically, it was orange, orange, orange and delicious.

I transitioned straight from the library to class, so I was extra excited when I my day was finally done and I was ready to take a break. And, by “take a break,” I mean meet Dan at the rec for a little workout.

After a little sweat-breaker, Dan and I shifted focus to the next most important thing: What to have for dinner?

We tossed around a few ideas, before finally settling on some homemade pizza. So, after a quick swing by the store for some yeast, I mixed up some dough, threw a towel on it and got back to some studying.

Then, a little more than an hour later, I came back downstairs to discover something beautiful:

The dough has risen!

From there, it was an easy process of stretching out the dough, baking it, topping it and baking it some more. Plus, Dan even treated me to some entertainment.

Skills.

And, with only a few minutes of “real work,” our delicious pizza was ready!

Consumed: Whole-wheat pizza with spinach and artichoke hummus, sautéed mushrooms and onions and a little mozzarella cheese.

Meanwhile Dan had some Hawiian pizza and Lola had some serious pizza envy…

I rounded the night off on a sweet note with a mix of chocolate goldfish, white chocolate chips and M&Ms. Not so monochromatic, but still delicious — Especially since I ended my “sweet note” on an extra sweet note.

Questions: What’s your favorite color? Do you tend to eat monochromatic or colorful foods?

15 responses to “Monochromatic

Leave a Reply

