German lunch revival

There are definitely advantages to being a journalism student: Late nights working on the newspaper. Intense deadlines. Creative roadblocks.

Oh, wait. Those are some of the disadvantages! Pesky words…

The truth is that sometimes journalism makes me want to pull my hair out. And by “sometimes” I mean the week before finals when everything is due. Fortunately, after more hours than I care to count spent this week in the library, I finally turned in my last big paper today.

That means that after only one more class, four (pretty easy) tests and just a few days, I’ll be on winter break!

During that time, I look forward to spending time with my friends and family, getting to focus on some different projects, mixing up my workouts and getting the break from school that I didn’t get when I was in Germany (not like I’m complaining).

Speaking of Germany, remember those school lunches I ate in the cafeteria everyday? If you don’t, here’s a little summary: potatoes, vegetables and cheese.

Finally, four months after I got home, I wanted to revisit that combination. But, this time, I was going to do it my way.

Twice-Baked Primavera Potato

Ingredients:

  • 1 large baking potato
  • 1 C frozen spring vegetables, i.e. broccoli, cauliflower, corn, etc.
  • 2 T mozzarella cheese, divided
  • 1 T light soy milk
  • Olive oil
  • Italian seasoning
  • Salt and pepper

Directions:

  • Scrub the potato, poke it all over with a fork and wrap in a paper towel. Microwave for 4 minutes, flip and cook for 4 more minutes.
  • Place the vegetables in a microwavable bowl, drizzle with a little water, cover with a paper towel and microwave for 3 minutes. Drain excess water.
  • Slice the potato open horizontally. Then, use a spoon to carefully scoop out the insides. Add the insides of the potato to the vegetables, add milk, a drizzle of olive oil, salt, pepper, Italian seasoning and 1 T mozzarella. Mash everything together. Carefully spoon back into the potato shells.

  • Turn the broiler on to high. Place the potato shells on a baking sheet, sprinkle with 1 T mozzarella cheese and place on a rack about 6 inches from the broiler. Keep the oven door propped a little open.
  • Bake for about five minutes, until cheese is melted and slightly browned. Remove, season to taste with more salt, pepper and Italian seasoning. Drizzle with olive oil.

I must admit that the scenery in Germany was better, but this had every single cafeteria meal beat in terms of taste.

Question: Do you associate certain foods with certain times in your life?

18 responses to “German lunch revival

Leave a Reply

